We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise! Excellent guest services provided.”
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived earlier than expected and unannounced. I walked in and asked if an early check in was a possibility. We had been traveling all week on the coast and had been on the receiving end of poor customer service. Needless to say I was expecting more of the same type of service.
To my pleasant surprise I was greeted by a warm engaging human being....I think her name was Kelly. She immediately summoned her colleague and asked if it was possible. He immediately, literally jogged over to our room, and checked to see if our room was ready. They were able to accommodate with out blinking an eye.
I had promised the group I was with, (my wife and brother in law) a spectacular experience in Mill Valley. My wife is pregnant was craving grilled cheese sandwiches......Kelly and Brian were quick to whip up a town map a give us several different options. I had also promised my group a spectacular drive through redwoods and sunset on the beach. Kelly again saved the day, by the time I dropped my luggage off in the room, Kelly had a map waiting for me at the front desk. ( it was almost one of those State Farm commercials) The drive was spectacular including an easy hike to the top of MT Tamalpais fire look out and then a drive to Stinson State Beach. All my requests were easily met with in the first hour of my arrival.
The facility was nothing short of spectacular...we stayed in the creek house. Perfect for our group of three. The beds were soooooo comfortable, ceilings were high and the bathroom was spacious. All nestled in the red woods. If you look closely you might notice we even captured Yeti running through the red woods....

Room Tip: might want to consider staying on the second floor next time. a little bit foot steps coming from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed in Mill Valley as part of a vacation and daughter's wedding allowing us some time to decompress. The Inn is off to the side of Mill Valley, nestled against some redwood trees and the park. The room we had was very comfortable (balcony). The bath products were great (better to buy it in town rather than from the Inn). The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. They have a nice cocktail hour and had a great and expansive breakfast.

Do try the local restaurants and coffee shops. Muir Woods is only 20 minutes away. A nice park is within 5minutes.

Mill Valley does have a parking problem, but the Inn has parking...just takes a while to get into some tight spots.

Room Tip: Best to get a balcony room so that you have a private area to sit outside and enjoy the view. The al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in Mill Valley as part of a San Francisco/Napa trip. The Inn itself is unassuming and tucked away off one of the main streets, but the rooms are very comfortable with lovely bath products. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed meeting people during the cocktail hour and had a great and expansive breakfast.

Mill Valley has a number of great restaurants and shops. It is a fun escape and only 30 minutes north of San Fransisco.

If you stay at Mill Valley Inn, it is fun to do part of the Dipsea trail, which is only a few blocks from the Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from running in the North Face Endurance Challenge in San Fran. A shuttle was picking up in Mill Valley, and after reading many TA reviews, we decided on the Mill Valley Inn. Yet again, thank-you to previous reviewers! This charming inn goes above and beyond the typical hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, staff are exceptional! We checked in on a Friday and were taken care of all weekend by John - the most friendly, welcoming 'host' one could hope for! He made sure we had transportation to our race shuttle early Sunday morning (in fact, double checked for us), was the host of one of the most bonding wine receptions I have ever been to - a cozy affair where a number of guests pulled chairs together to discuss different cities of origin, interests, reasons to come to Mill Valley, and what brought them to the Mill Valley Inn, and arranged transportation back to the airport for us. He has a genuine interest in the guests and it shows! We attended the wine reception (happy hour) both Friday and Sunday, and found that most other guests were repeat customers. One gentleman remembers John from his last trip and indicated that he also appreciated the 'above and beyond'.
We took the complimentary bikes out for a tour about on Saturday - a great activity as there are beautiful woods just behind the Inn, perfect for exploring. Definitely bring running shoes as the steps and hills around town are amazing, but sensible shoes is a requirement.
Beds were comfortable, rooms are spacious - we stayed in the 3rd floor overlooking the redwoods and it felt like we were truly away. Although it was chilly that week (for SF standards), the balcony was perfect.
The breakfast was wonderful! Lots of selection - oatmeal with a myriad of toppings available (walnuts, blueberries, strawberries), yogurt, salmon and lox, bagels, cereal, juices, tea, coffee....a great way to start the day!
A few tips about Mill Valley:
- it is a great little town if you want to get away from the big city. It is obviously a high income area, so some things/stores are priced accordingly. The bonus to the area is that you feel absolutely safe walking around. Things do shut down at night, so it is very quiet. Perfect if you need to get up early, want some RandR or are on a romantic trip.
- we didn't do any activities except for our run, but the run was held in an amazing park within minutes of driving from the MV Inn. I would definitely take hiking gear and go back to the Golden Gate Nat'l Park. Stunning views and beautiful trails!
- stock up on wine and nibblies before you get into MV! The market on Main Street, although very well stocked, is ridiculously expensive. Wines are about 2-3x the price in most other places, and sad to say, California wines were priced higher in MV than in Canada! The wine reception is a treat for sure, as wine and a few nibblies are complimentary and perfect for pre-dinner happy hour.
- explore - lots of litte nooks and crannies to check out on foot. Bring running shoes, but also bring 'trendy' clothes for the evening. The folks who live here dress well - you can definitely see the locals.
- check out the Punjabi Burrito (right up the block from MV Inn), Boo Koo (yum! healthy and delish!), Pearl's Phat Burger (best burgers!).
- Stay away from Amberjack Sushi - worst sushi ever, so disappointing! Rice was clumpy and cold in the rolls, service was atrocious.

Room Tip: We loved room 14, facing the redwoods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you're looking for a very special spot, either for a night or a week-this is your go-to!
We spent a week over Thanksgiving with my 85 year old mother-in-law. Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff went above and beyond. Everyone from the front office to the breakfast staff to the housekeepers were friendly and helpful. They offer complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese in the late afternoon.
Our rooms were spacious, comfortable, well appointed and quiet. The Inn's location is perfect for being able to walk to local shops and restaurants.
We will have many more occasions to visit Mill Valley, and this will be our home away from home every time.

Room Tip: Any room on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymac725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Mill Valley Inn is one of those small boutique type inns where the staff is happy to greet you and assist you in any way they can. They ordered gluten free bread for me ahead of time for breakfast, and showed me how to use my room key when I had trouble with it. Bryan, Ryan and Yvonne were always glad to answer questions or lend a helping hand. My room was on the top floor and overlooked the redwood trees, with a little balcony. The room seemed very spacious, the beds were quite comfortable, and the large bathroom included a nice sized oval tub in addition to a shower. I loved the tile in the bathroom and the skylight. The location is perfect, right next to an Eileen Fisher store and downtown restaurants! For a good walk, go up Throckmorton past the library and school, then take a left down to Cascade St. for a pleasant stroll among the redwoods next to a delightful stream. D'Angelos a wonderful place for lunch or dinner, across from the town piazza. And the Mill Valley Market has great deli food for snacking. Breakfast at the Inn included lots of options, like seasoned hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, waffles, cereals and lots of fresh fruit choices. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor overlooking the redwoods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimmer067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Right in the middle of town near the plaza, shops and restaurants. Staff is very helpful. Great breakfast with espresso service, smoked salmon and bagels, fruit and lots more. Very comfortable beds and pillows.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,603 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: £181 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing