We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Wonderful location. Cordial and efficient staff. Great breakfast plus afternoon wine and cheese. Quiet evenings, wood stove, comfortable beds....all things led to an enjoyable stay. Several good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Third floor rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We lived in Mill Valley until about 12 years ago and come back regularly to visit friends. We always stay at the Mill Valley Inn because it's right in the village where the "action" is. The setting is idyllic, especially the rooms in the redwoods at the rear of the property. The Inn serves a wonderful buffet breakfast which is included in the room rate. We love to stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the resort for a total of 4 nights. We had room 19 in the Creek House with a King size bed. The room was nice and the continental breakfast each morning was a great perk. In the evening, a wine and cheese reception was also a wonderful enhancement. We stayed when it was very warm and the room never seemed cool enough for us. We kept trying to lower the thermostat without success. The shower did not have enough water pressure so you had to stand there a long time to rinse. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Walk to grocery store and restaurants.

Room Tip: They told us that we had one of the older rooms. I would ask for a newer room so that the air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed at the Mill Valley Inn a number of times and have always enjoyed our time there. It's a wonderful location--right off the main square. In the five days we stayed there recently we never had to drive to a restaurant, as so many were just a block or two away.
The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. When we mentioned that we were having a major anniversary they sent a cake and a bottle of wine to our room.
We would recommend getting a room on the third floor--less,noisy. We prefer the ones facing the street,as they have more light, but many folks like the ones facing the redwoods. Our only criticism is that they do not have small refrigerators in the rooms, which would be a big improvement.
Over the years they have improved the complimentary breakfast, which now includes smoked salmon and hot oatmeal. Overall, a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor--less noisy. They have fireplaces. Ones facing the street have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This Inn, located less than a half an hour from San Francisco, is in a lovely peaceful town adjacent to good restaurants and interesting places to visit. Our room, located on the top floor in the back, was spacious, comfortable, quiet with a view of redwood trees. The breakfast was fresh and generous. The staff was very friendly and accomodatng.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EST47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights early May & would definitely put this hotel on my list for a return visit if we are in the area again, excellent & friendly staff, great choice for a continental breakfast & a great position in town.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BullitU_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently had a 2 night stay at Mill Valley. Room was cosy yet spacious, luxurious, comfortable with a lovely bathroom and fireplace and a fab location in downtown Mill Valley. Great breakfasts and the nightly free wine and cheese reception is a lovely touch, as are the free bikes on offer. We took advantage of the opportunity and took a leisurely bike ride to nearby Sausalito and were also just a short drive away from Muir Woods and San Francisco. In addition, the customer service was outstanding and every member of staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here. Lots of pottering to do in the immediate area too, great boutiques, restaurants, cinema etc. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Next time, I would probably ask for a room away from the car park as our room didn't feel very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
473 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: £179 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing