We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food realy needs Quality Upgrade”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Toast - CLOSED

Toast
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Food realy needs Quality Upgrade”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I guess the locals like this place cause it s pretty busy. I have tried breakfast twice and very average or below the average of the looks of the place. It could use a Gordon Ramsey upgrade, or just a chef who is food educated. It one of those restaurants that has crew in the kitchen that just puts out the food mechanically No Love No passion. Its to bad because its a nice looking place.
The service because its so busy is not good, I found myself also looking for my wait person when I needed something or they forgot something.
The best Breakfast place I have found is The Half Day Cafe in Kentfield. worth the drive and the small wait on weekends

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, good prices”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Went with the whole family after soccer games. Menu filled with good comfort food options. Linguine with sausage was the family's agreed "winner." Pretty reasonable prices, especially for Marin.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swb_muir_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville,NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Asked a Local”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were visiting a shop called "Two Neat" in Mill Valley around noon on a Sunday and decided to get a bite to eat. We asked the clerk who made several recommendations -among them was "Toast". My husband and son both ordered a club sandwich while I ordered a Greek omelet. They were very satisfied with their sandwiches. The sandwiches were very filling and came with a side of potatoes best described as chunky hashbrowns. My omelet was just okay, but it was more than enough to satisfy me. I was actually glad that the waitress didn't bring the toast that was suppose to come with it. The menu is pretty extensive, and breakfast is served all day. The atmosphere was very casual, and comprised of locals. The staff wasn't especially friendly, but the service was adequate.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Diner with a san francisco twist.”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This is basically an upscale diner, with incredible food. I had the tofu scramble, and it was so good that i'm going to figure out how to make it at home. Will be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Toast was a great place to grab breakfast... it was fresh and delicious. Very casual, nothing fancy. And if you go before 9am, the meters in front of the place are free!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toast also viewed

Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing