We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but incredibly scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small rooms but incredibly scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were looking for a good place to go hiking in Muir Woods. Mountain Home Inn is PERFECT for that! You can walk out the front door and set out on hiking paths to Muir Woods and Mount Tam. The room we had was small; a bed and one chair and dresser and not much more. The shower was spacious though. However, the room has a large private deck with comfy wooden chairs overlooking a fantastic view of trees and scenery! It was gorgeous. We spent a few minutes every morning and night enjoying the view.

The breakfasts are delicious, with a decent variety of options. We tried almost everything and it was all very good. However, I've never been to a Bed and Breakfast that pushed for a tip for breakfast before. That was a bit odd. We only had dinner there once. We chose the 3 course meal specialty of the day. A bit expensive, but every bite was fantastic.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and had lots of advice for places to go.

The main downside was that it was a bit pricey. We also had a few annoyances; for example, they explained the dinner options, but never mentioned that they were closed for dinner on Monday and Tuesday. Nothing major.

If we go to Marin County again, we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Normally I wouldn't review a place where I just had a drink but the service and view are well worth rating. We too had just visited Muir Woods. At the end of August it was very crowded. Someone in our party thought of getting a cool drink at Mountain Home Inn after our walk in the well populated woods. So glad we did. They were between lunch and dinner but we were welcomed to have a drink and enjoy the view. Only one table was occupied. So the quiet and zen I'd hoped for in Muir Woods was satisfied here. Didn't want to leave! Hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way from Napa Valley to San Francisco while on our honeymoon. We stayed last Friday night so we could visit Muir Woods on Saturday. What a great find for our trip! The views from the balcony in our room and the main balcony where we ate were BREATHTAKING!! We watched the sun set and then watched the sun rise (wow) while here. The service was great! Thanks to Bryson and the others for everything :) The rooms are not huge, nor are they modern, but you are only using them for a short time as you will want to spend all of your time outside enjoying the view! We had a fantastic sleep in our comfy bed. We met another couple there as well and have been in contact with them already since arriving home. Breakfast at the inn is so far away from your usual continental! They have a delicious menu to choose from and it's included! mm mm!! Thanks MHI!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We wanted to stop off in do some hiking in Muir Woods and found this interesting Inn online. If you know what you are getting into, I think you will be perfectly happy! This is an old school back in time inn with amazing views. All of the hiking trails wind around this place and it is full of hikers and mountain bikers. The staff is very nice and receptive, although a bit disjointed. Just know it is more like a house than a hotel. The receptionist will be taking your dinner order in a few :-) Rooms are spacious but very dated. Could be a cool little luxury joint with some modifications but you can tell they are happy with it just the way it is! Great breakfast in the morning! A bit pricey for me, I expect things pretty nice for $400.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a large balcony, tub and fireplace. Room 4 and 3 have straight on nice views with balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingcowgirl_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Terrific views, and a good spot for lunch. Check on the days they are open before travelling to the Inn. Nice spot to visit after going to Muir woods. Since Muir woods is a must visit when going to San Francisco, might as well visit the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgehrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

While trying to get to Muir Woods we took a wrong turn and ended up at the Mountain Home Inn on Mount Tamalpais. What a great gem to find! We decided to have lunch while overlooking a stunning view. The staff and food were great. It was a bit pricey but understandable. I recommend everyone visiting Muir Woods take the time to visit the other side of the range. The Mount Tamalpais drive was breathtaking and the view from the top was stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Wow, I had high expectations for my 5-year anniversary stay here, and they were well-exceeded! Both the rooms and the staff here are really, really exceptional.This place is way up in the mountainous redwoods, I mean waaaay up in nature! We got a late start from our home in SF, and arrived in the early afternoon to this cozy little inn. The desk host was showing another room, but Bryson came over from the bar and took care of our check-in. He gave us a free upgrade, but let us see both rooms first so we could compare them.

We wound up in the California Room (#1), which was decked out with a "raw" looking 4-post bed frame, wood fireplace all set up to use, oversize jacuzzi bathtub, and a view the peered out through a flock of redwoods with a little view of the hills of the North Bay. It was like living in the world's most upscale tree-house. Really large amount of space as well.

We went out later on for a celebratory anniversary drink, and were offered complimentary champagne! The bartender recommended we watch the sunset across the street from the hotel, which looks down into the valley of Muir Woods. It was like the end of a good romance movie. Then we headed back in, the sun not quite down yet, and mentioned we had delivery on the way. The person at the desk offered to receive it for us and sent us back out on a short but beautiful hike up the hill past the fire station. This was also just perfectly romantic.

The breakfast in the morning is very good for something included in the price. The best part isn't the food, its eating out on the deck and sipping coffee while you look down over a forest and all the little towns of Sausalito, Mill Valley, and out to San Francisco.

I used to work at a hotel in the North Bay, and know that hotels here are very expensive, whether they're amazing or mediocre. Honestly, this was worth the high price we paid for it. I could not have asked for better service, and the room was just what I wanted. My girlfriend hella loved it, too. Thanks to everyone at MHI who made this a really special stay for us.

Room Tip: While you can hike many places from here, don't expect this to be like downtown Mill Valley. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aregenerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
6.4 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Property: Mountain Home Inn
Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing