We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“A Notch Above”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I used to prefer Best Western, but several years ago I discovered the Larkspur Landing chain and it is now my favorite. The Larkspur Hotel is part of the same chain. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the decor as it was warm and inviting. We stayed in the middle of the week and it was quiet. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the little extras such as the S'Mores kit and DVDs although the titles were a bit old and the selection was small. We were given a room in the back on the 2nd floor. There is no elevator and we found that making our way from the back to the front of the hotel going from building to building was confusing (it rained during our stay.) There were no luggage carts readily available. The outer hallway smelled musty and the refrigerator smelled of tainted milk until I turned it up and it got colder. There was no microwave. The healthy start breakfast is the usual hard boiled eggs, english muffins, bananas, cold cereal, coffee and juice that most hotels do these days. We did not use the restaurant and there is no room service. The balcony off our room was small and there was no screen door. Otherwise, the feather bed was nice, the pillows were comfortable, the sheets weren't too scratchy. There was a nice big flat screen TV and a hair dryer. The room smelled fresh and the toiletries were very nice. I really like the Lather brand. The hotel is conveniently located near highway 101 on ramp and around the corner from a Walgreens and Subway. We didn't use the rental bikes, but saw others who did and thought that was a nice touch also. We also didn't use the heating/cooling system as there was no need to on the days we stayed. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but I have to mark it down for the absense of several things including; no screen door, no elevator, no available luggage carts, no microwave ... oh, and the musty smells. Otherwise, very nice!

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room towards the front of the hotel if you have luggage challenges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We appreciate the extra "notch"... Thank you. Our team works very hard to keep our property in top notch condition and I will share your sentiment with our staff. Too bad it rained during your stay but hopefully you will be able to come back to the area and take full advantage of our amenties and fantastic southern Marin location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    244
    87
    41
    20
See reviews for
210
216
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The rooms have new furniture, TVs, nice bedding but have dated walls and hallways. They did a nice remodel on the lobby, fire pit and breakfast areas.

The free breakfast was much healthier fare than the usual breakfast at other hotels. It included cereal, oatmeal, muffins, toast, fruits, milk juice etc. No cheap donuts or danish here!

Service was good. We called the front desk regarding a couple of issues and they acted on them promptly.

Location of the hotel turned out to be pretty good. It has freeway access and you have many restaurant options within an exit or two.

The off-peak pricing with a discount for multiple nights was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBF2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Many thanks for taking a few moments of your busy day to comment on your stay with us. As always, we appreciate the feedback from our guests and use this information to make changes or adjustments to our product. However, in this case, it appears as though you took full advantage of our amenities and enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for mentioning our breakfast and your support of the menu choices. It is a very balanced continental breakfast and really meant to give our guests a healthy start to their day. Should your travel plans bring you back to our area, I hope that you consider us again to be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while scouting out a bicycle trip. It was so good, we will have our group stay here when we ride though in September . It has easy access from 101 as well as a bike path. The staff was excellent. Next door was a terrific restaurant that makes its own olive oil. The pool and spa were just fine.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveParker116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review. It truly is a great location and at the base of so many great hikes and trails. Look forward to seeing you and the group in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had a wonderful stay here. The staff, particularly JoAnn, went out of their way to help me make the most of my time there and make me comfortable. The hotel add so many little extras, like having bikes available to borrow, smores at night at the fire, nightly 'elixirs', there's always something to look forward to. Room was fine with a nice little patio on all of them, pool and exercise room, and good restaurant attached. Only a couple highway exits from San Francisco, and lots of outdoor activities nearby (Mt Tamalpais, Muir redwoods, Golden Gate recreation area).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mav111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so very much for posting your review. It brings myself and my very hardworking staff great comfort to know that are guests feel welcome and taken care of. I'm sure you have made someone's day with your thoughtful comment! We certainly hope to see you again should your plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is an hour or so from the San Francisco International airport, at the intersection of US Highway 101 and California 1 -- an excellent jumping off point for visiting the wine country or Pointe Reyes recoreational area. There are nice running/walking paths next to the hotel. As far as restaurants are concerned, there is a nice one adjacent to the hotel and downtown Sausalito is only ten minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colonelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Greetings and thank you for taking a few moments to review our wonderful hotel. Our readers and future guests will find your comments very helpful when choosing a hotel, so we sincerely appreciate your thoughtful review. Hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice rooms, wetland walking path right out the back door, very friendly staff and a terrific restaurant walking distance next door. This is my favorite 'secret' spot when I come to the Bay area on business or pleasure. The hotel is not fancy (it used to be a Holiday Inn Express) but has been upgraded some, with nice ameneties and special 'deals' occasionally and the greatest location. I love to get up early and walk along the trail right in the wetlands/ bird sanctuary

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladida12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Fantastic! Thanks so much. Always a joy to read when our guests enjoy all that there is to take advantage of. You've made our work so much easier. Readers will certainly benefit from your review. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel this past weekend and the hotel was great. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and professional. The hotel was well maintained. Our room was clean. We enjoyed the bikes - took a bike ride each morning. The s'mores were a fun addition - our children enjoyed that at the end of the day. The location is perfect for easy freeway access. Close to Sausalito, John Muir Woods, and Stinson beach. We went to Napa with one hour drive. We also took the ferry from Larkspur (only four exits north) into San Francisco. The italian restaurant next door is pricey but the food is nicely prepared and excellent! We would definitely return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Four_Family_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel and share your comments. It sounds like you took full advantage of the amenities and the area. So much to see and do! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing