We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A nice stopover”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was a little bit dated but there was something nice about it. The worst thing was that there were not a lift but still two floors. The brekfast was nice and the staff was great. For that reason I must but 4 stars, but for building I would give only 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear JPDH2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the staff and the complimentary hot buffet breakfast. I also would like to share with you that we will be getting a elevator sometime in the beginning of 2014. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    256
    94
    42
    21
See reviews for
222
225
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
401 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is located in a terrific spot in Mill Valley where you can easily walk to the Starbuck's, Dipsea Diner or Buckeye Roadhouse- some local favorite. The Marin Airporter also drops off right nearby (take it from SFO to Manzanitas stop), which is handy. I love the fire pit the hotel has outside and you can get s'more kits to make there from the hotel. The breakfast has a wide selection, though not very tasty (very few hotel breakfasts are in fairness). The rooms are a nice size, good WIFI, nice view if you can get a room facing the water at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear bucks17,
Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on trip advisor. We do take all guest feedback to heart in order to improve our operation. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location and the Marin Airporter access from SFO. I am sorry that the complimentary hot breakfast buffet was not to your liking. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. Great lcation and clean. We recommend the second floor because it more quiet, but there is no elevetor. It is very close to the high way, so you can access any direction easily.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aviavi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Aviavi63,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is just ok, but I'd definitely recommend staying due to its great location. One lady on reception was excellent, but the general stay wasn't exactly as expected. We booked three nights, they only had us booked for one (although they fixed this). We specified a mountain view - it didn't happen with no explanation given. The hotel website says there are s'mores around a fire pit each night - nothing at all to be seen in the whole of our stay (and the weather was fine - no rain to stop this happening). Breakfast was good, but crowded and served on paper plates with plastic cutlery. You're really accessible for San Francisco, Headlands, Muir Woods and the road network is very good from just outside of the hotel though. We found the Mill Valley - Sausalito cycle path very good, although the hotel's bikes are average at best (poorly maintained with flat tyres etc).

Sausalito, about 10 minutes by car though, is stunning and we found the ferry to SF to be the easiest/most convenient way to get to the city. All in all it's good, but only as a base to do other things.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wumran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on trip advisor. I am glad to read that the location was ideal for your travels. The smores are available daily and can be retrieved at the front desk. We turn on the fire pit nightly and it looks like we did not communicate that to you as well as we could have. Thank you again for your comments and business and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Due to the Americas Cup and a huge Oracle event we had struggled to find a hotel in the city so we opted for this. Having stayed in San Francisco before I can conclude that this was far better. We had a hire-car and drove into the city one day, it only took half an hour!
The staff were very friendly. Our room was perfect, with a very comfy bed.
We used the pool once - we were the only people in it, probably a bit chilly for the locals!
Breakfast was good.
We tried to use the bikes but they were not that usable - flat tyres etc, which is a huge shame.

We visited Muir Woods from here - just a short drive away, and a wonderful place to visit.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatdoyouknowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay on trip advisor. I am sorry for the flat tire you encountered and the bike complimentary rental is on a first come first serve basis. I am glad to read the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that the staff took great care of you.
Thank you again for your comments and we do hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff is adorable. The complementary bikes and the heated swimming pool make the stay even more enjoyable! I highly recommend usig a bike to cycle to Sausalito and then having a nice relax by the pool. I was planning to do an "express" stop and actually left at 3pm instead!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barralm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read your enjoyed the use of our complimentary trail bikes and afterward had a chance to relax by the pool. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a last minute booking so the location for us wasn't ideal as we had come to watch the American's Cup which was over the other side of the harbour so our mistake for not researching it enough. It's good if you are wanting to visit the wine country from here. The rooms were large but the place itself is very dated. A basic cooked breakfast was offered each day but we had to eat it on cardboard plates and with plastic cutlery which you couldn't cut anything with. The staff were all helpful but didn't have local knowledge of the area ie transport which is strange if they are working at a hotel reception. When we were leaving we asked reception to order a taxi for to take us to the city which took 3 hours to arrive! It wasn't until a new lady came on reception and realised how long we had been waiting that another cab company was rung. The best aspect of this hotel was we got to eat at the Italian restaurant next door which was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We do take them to heart in the effort of improving the service we provide here. I am sorry you had to wait 3 hours for a cab and am glad that a staff member noticed and got you a quicker one. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
800 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing