We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Did not want to return home today from the Aqua. We were there for a work, but it felt like vacation. Despite being on a frontage road near the freeway, the hotel faces Mt. Tam and an estuary, is surrounded by bike and walking paths, and beautiful landscaping, so it feels relaxing and refreshing. We loved that the hotel is water conscious given California's drought, and that there are recycling bins in the room for all those accumulated paper products. The only minor observation is that a compost bin in the dining area would be a great addition. Front desk staff was wonderful. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    164
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
204
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Clearly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Very nice rooms, very nice view. Wine and cheese in the afternoon. A terrific breakfast and the gentleman that prepares it knows that bacon should be crispy! That is rare. Complimentary bicycles and a good trail to Sausalito were icing on the cake. Best of all the staff is friendly and helpful. We had occasion to interact with 5 of the staff and they were all great. Now if they only had a hot tub it would have been the perfect place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel was the best I'd stayed in while in the San Francisco area. They comped me to a suite. I got a good price on Priceline. I had a balcony, sitting area, a veritable one bedroom apartment. It was clean, spacious. Slept like a baby. They have free wine hour and fresh baked cookies for guests, free bikes. Despite it being right off the highway, my room was quiet, picturesque, right of a lake. The staff was amazing. The breakfast is a full amazing spread. This was by far the best place I stayed while in the San Francisco area. I went to the headlands at their suggestion. The staff was amazing. Clean. They made me feel like royalty.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room. Used Priceline to book the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgewirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our stay there couldn't have been better. The staff, location, clean room, breakfast, wine tasting, location to bike trails, ferry, food, shopping ..........everything was perfect......a great vacation in the San Fran area staying at the Acqua.......thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I absolutely love this place. Staying here for business, it is everything I could ever want! The staff are all really accommodating and super helpful, I was able to use wifi and the printer for free, cocktail hour with nice cheeses and wine, and a great breakfast buffet!! What is not to love?? OH - and the views are fabulous, it is central to everything, super clean, modern, and gorgeous. I would not stay anywhere else around here...and I hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip to San Francisco from Connecticut. Hotels were very overpriced in the city, so I looked elsewhere. After reading the reviews for the Acqua Hotel I thought we'd give it a try. Better than I expected. Clean, bright, new. Great service, pleasant staff, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, wine and cheese in the later afternoon, good breakfast. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. Would definitely stay here again, and I am picky. A great find!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, room 113. It was at the end and away from any noise. We did not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneX981HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and have been very happy both times. The rooms all face part of the Bay as well as the mountains, resulting in some fine afternoon sun. The grounds are well-manicured. The rooms are very comfortable. We have stayed in a suite both times which gives us a little more space for suitcases, etc. The bathroom lighting is a bit off. The hotel still uses the first generation energy efficient bulbs which give a blue cast and take a while to "warm up". Since our first stay, they have converted from individual bottled toiletries to wall-mounted dispensers. I suppose you could argue that it better for the environment to not use plastic bottles, but please, I think this is geared more towards saving money. The breakfast is always the best - scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and a delicious assortment of pastries and fruit. Cereal as well. Coffee is tops, too.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you are a party of two or more.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,408 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Property: Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Address: 555 Redwood Hwy Frontage Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3007
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Hotel Mill Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing