We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but dull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute but dull”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was so kind and friendly. but it was very quiet everywhere and it seemed like a conference hotel which deducted from any charm. It is nice and clean and a little dull. Also the rooms have an empty mini bar!! Which is definately not in the guests best interest. Perhaps that is just me..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    164
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
203
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the money. Super clean. great service. nice landscaping. I would certainly stay there again if I have the chance. I have stayed in SF city center several times and next time I will probably just stay here.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Profile
1. family of four (2 kids ages 10 & 13)
2. two night stay on a Tuesday & Wednesday
3. stay purpose: visit San Francisco and Muir Woods
4. Room 104: Queen Double, first floor, north end of complex, nice location
Good Stuff
1. Short 25 minute drive (18 minutes per Map Quest) from this hotel to the Wharf area of SF.
2. Beautifully appointed, CLEAN, recently renovated, "zen" room with efficient & functional use of space.
3. The high ceilings gave a very airy and roomy feel to the room.
4. Beautiful view of the water from the room.
3. Recently installed hardwood floors, much better than carpet, much cleaner, love it.
4. Luxuriously comfortable, white bedding. I like white bedding, easy to tell if it's kept clean.
5 Shower/tub area grout was white, no sign of mold or mildew.
6. The botanical soap and lotions in the bathroom dispensers smelled lovely. The dispensers are convenient and leave counter and ledge spaces open.
7. Huge shower/soaking tub - no brushing up against the shower curtain.
8. The spa green tiles are a relaxing color, very serene.
9. The cotton ball and Q-Tip dispenser on the sink are a nice touch.
10, Hair dryer mounted on the wall, this info could be added to their website.
11. Alarm clock/docking station was a nice touch.
12. NO noise issues, with freeway noise or guest noise, as reported in other reviews.
13. Several restaurants withing walking distance. We ate at Piatti.
14. Breakfast Buffet = Awesome
The breakfast buffet was fabulous. With cold items starting at 6:30 a.m. and hot items at 7:00 a.m., we were able to get a good, healthy and yummy start to our day and get into the city early. The buffet had fresh fruit, pastries, toast & muffin options, fresh waffle maker, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, variety of juices, coffee, tea, hard boiled eggs, and I could be forgetting something. The gentleman who ran the buffet took great pride in his work. The food was beautifully presented, kept full, and the areas were kept clean.

The comfy bedding and botanical soaps and lotions made coming home every night after a long day of walking the trails or city a relaxing and heavenly experience. All team members were a pleasure and made us feel right at home. The lobby is very "Zen", loved it. I hope the team at Acqua Hotel can keep up the good work and keep this little gem a good value for the area. It was a beautiful stay and we thank you.

Observations For Potential Improvements
1. Install a bar in the shower to hang four washcloths.
2. Install another towel bar so four bath towels can be hung outside of the shower. Possibly
move the picture above the towel bar to above the commode and add another towel bar above the existing one.
#1 & 2 above are not an issue if you have your bath cloths laundered every day
3. Outlets: could use a few more easily accessible ones, maybe a strip mounted to the desktop. Had to go under the desk to use a strip. Worked, but not ideal. We had 2 phones, an iPod, and a camera battery to charge nightly.
4. A room safe would be nice.
5. The sliding glass door on first level was tricky. It was unlocked when we first entered our room, the last person probably couldn't lock it. Could use a little maintenance, but it was not a major issue as we finally figured it out.
6. Parking can be a little tight in the evening if you don't return early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You get a lot for your money here. Large, contemporary rooms with comfortable beds. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon and European style breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff and a good location for day-tripping in Marin County. Nice setting by a tidal pool of the bay. Everyone in our group said they would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lafayette2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is definitely on our "return to" list. We checked in late as we'd had dinner with friends. The young man at the front desk couldn't have been nicer...a particularly welcome touch was that he immediately offered chocolate chip cookies and said that even though the wine hour had been earlier, he would be happy to pour me a glass of wine.
We were traveling with our dog and were a little apprehensive about the type of room we'd be offered, as the previous stop had been awful. But our room was clean, fresh smelling, and the sliding doors opened to a lovely little patio looking out directly on the lawn, walking path, and lagoon. Although the freeway was very close, with the doors closed the room was very quiet.

The next morning we took the dog for a walk along the path by the lagoon and then headed to the second floor breakfast room. Dogs are not allowed in the breakfast room, but there is a very nice balcony with tables which can be accessed from the walking path and you can bring your breakfast out onto the patio and the dog can be with you. Breakfast was very good...lots of choices and the attendants very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately we had to leave right after breakfast and weren't able to avail ourselves of the complimentary bicycle rentals.

A very pleasant, albeit short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotthetravelbug48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Did not want to return home today from the Aqua. We were there for a work, but it felt like vacation. Despite being on a frontage road near the freeway, the hotel faces Mt. Tam and an estuary, is surrounded by bike and walking paths, and beautiful landscaping, so it feels relaxing and refreshing. We loved that the hotel is water conscious given California's drought, and that there are recycling bins in the room for all those accumulated paper products. The only minor observation is that a compost bin in the dining area would be a great addition. Front desk staff was wonderful. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Clearly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Very nice rooms, very nice view. Wine and cheese in the afternoon. A terrific breakfast and the gentleman that prepares it knows that bacon should be crispy! That is rare. Complimentary bicycles and a good trail to Sausalito were icing on the cake. Best of all the staff is friendly and helpful. We had occasion to interact with 5 of the staff and they were all great. Now if they only had a hot tub it would have been the perfect place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Property: Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Address: 555 Redwood Hwy Frontage Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3007
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Hotel Mill Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing