We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE LEVEL IS WORTH THE MONEY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Sol y Nieve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Sol y Nieve
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE LEVEL IS WORTH THE MONEY”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a 2 night stay at The Level in this hotel. It's not a cheap option but we would have to say it did not disappoint and was worth every cent. The Level Lounge is very luxurious with a wide selection of drinks, snacks etc in a most comfortable and relaxing environment. The reception staff at the Lounge are extremely professional and helpful. We had full board which was very satisfactory with plenty of choice and we used the leisure centre between 1.00 and 4.00 which is free. Don't think it would be worth paying the ridiculous prices they charge to use it outside these hours. Would happily return there but would choose The Level,

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WCLADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Thay-50,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our the level services, you can be sure that we will report those comments to the The Level staff.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    244
    96
    32
    22
See reviews for
428
172
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
No
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

But that's a good thing. Pay a little extra & upgrade to the Level. You will not be disappointed. 1st class accommodation & 1st class service. Great fresh food with huge choice. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: upgrade & get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witheldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Witheldno,

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain.

Thank you so much for sharing your recommendations with the rest of users of tripadvisor with respect to the Level rooms and the other services.

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words,

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Spent 1st January at this overpriced hotel. I was informed that it was a brand new hotel and when my wife questionned whether it was just renovated in parts becuase the classic rooms on the internet did not look new she was wrongly informed that it was all new. The room was dirty, old furniture, no sound proofing. I had a miserable stay. My worst complaint is that I wanted to use the hotel swimming pool which the man on the phone had raved about- but was asked for 45 (fourty five) euros). I was told that I had to buy the entrance plus flip flops plus a hat so they asked for 45 euros. My wife rang up Melia to complain - to no avail. I spoke to the main reception desk. No one cared. My wife emailed afterwards to complain - no reply.

Room Tip: Do not book a classic room. If you ring up to book then listen to the fact that staff push you away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Morning Louise Luxembourg,

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all our services. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations,

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

stayed again at this hotel last weekend. another great break here. room, spa & food not to mention the hotel's position near the lifts make it the best in the ski resort in my opinion. I have stayed at many others but they all have drawbacks I think

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest experience manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Ellen S,

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Sol y Nieve we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience in Melia on TripAdvisor.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sol y Nieve but agree with previous reviewers that there is an issue with soundproofing at this hotel. We were lucky that we stayed on a Sunday and Monday night so the hotel was not overly busy but it was still evident that noise travels easily in this hotel.
The second negative point I would make is that the spa and spa treatments are hideously overpriced. There is no justification in a four star hotel charging for use of what is effectively the hotel pool and the treatments available at the spa are far too expensive and are not available before 1300hrs so not ideal for a non skier who wants to pass the time whilst friends are skiing.
On the plus side the staff are friendly (David was lovely!), the breakfast is world class and location excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottandlindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear ScottandlindaC

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your last stay at Melia and we take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Fernando Preto,
Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just back from a few days staying in Melia Sol y Nieve…A great location and close to main ski lifts..BUT are 3 night stay was spoilt by a combination of extreme noise from other guests ( standard rooms are not sound proofed!) and the fact that we had booked the hotel based on their lovely images of the SPA/Pool area ! Only to find out on arrival that children were not allowed into this area and we had to pay 27 euro per person per day (not mentioned on their web site). As we had two small children withy us,it really did but a damper on our stay. Also evening meals do not start until 8.00pm ..so not ideal for families with small children - in fact the whole hotel is designed for adults only - so if you have kids avoid!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank dougies2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear dougies2012,

First at all we want to express our apologies for the inconveniences you have head in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.
We will take good notice of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

We regret to know that your experience with us was not as pleasent as we would love.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ideally located in the centre of the Resort with parking underground, ideal in the event of heavy snowfall. Friendly staff, pleasant rooms (ours had a lovely view,) and not too hot which can be a problem in this resort. Breakfast okay, mainly continental. Myself and my two kids, 15 and 14 tried the spa which was quite expensive with no discount given for guests. Not too impressed wit the spa and would have expected more for the money. Definitely wouldn't use the spa again although would go back to the hotel. It is, however, quite pricey!

Room Tip: Try and travel out of season for better deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Vivienne,

Thank you for having taking some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement guest satifaction and quality service that we strive for.

Do not hesitate to contact me when you come back to try to change your impressions about the SPA.

Thank you once again to share your comments in TripAdvisor.

Your sincerely.

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nevada hotels
0.0 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHM Monachil
Hotel GHM Monachil
#10 of 13 in Nevada
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HG Maribel
HG Maribel
#7 of 13 in Nevada
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ziryab
Hotel Ziryab
#5 of 13 in Nevada
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenia Nevada
Kenia Nevada
#9 of 13 in Nevada
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sol y Nieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sol y Nieve

Property: Melia Sol y Nieve
Address: Plaza de Pradollano, s/n, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nevada
#1 Spa Hotel in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sol y Nieve 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Sol y Nieve is located at the foot of the slopes in the ski resort of Sierra Nevada, in Plaza de Pradollano, the heart of the shopping and leisure area, only 100 m from the ski lifts. Its strategic location in the centre of the ski resort and only 33 km from Granada, its excellent services and fully equipped facilities make the Melia Sol y Nieve the perfect choice for your trip to Sierra Nevada. Recently fully renovated, the hotel has a spectacular YHI SPA measuring 2,500 m2 (with charge, bathing caps and flip-flops not included), a fully equipped 24 hour gym, a modern lobby, public areas, a miniclub, games room, ski storage, 4 meeting and event rooms for up to 300 people; as well as magnificent guest rooms where you can enjoy superb views of the Sierra Nevada mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Sol y Nieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sol y Nieve Hotel Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Hotel Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing