We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value but not 5 star”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

There is no doubt that this is a nice hotel. We were there at the end of March by which point the hotel was relatively quiet.

It is situated at the top of the resort and has a lift that stops outside, which is great. We hired ski equipment there and found it to be reasonably priced with good service. The staff are helpful and friendly and especially on the ball with the free shuttle to and from the main part of the main urbanizacion.

I was surpised the see the spa facilities, parking and wifi were extra; but then we got a very competetive deal (online) so you ultimately you get what you pay for.

The breakfast is high quality although we did not eat at the hotel in the evening because the restaurant had a bit of a sterile atmosphere with a slightly pretentious menu. One of the most attractive parts of Spanish culture is it's food. I would like to see more of an Andalucian infleunce in the cuisine.

Gracias a los empleos para haciendo un buen viaje en Andalucia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanRMStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    89
    41
    18
    21
See reviews for
115
151
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benalmádena, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Myslef my partner and our 2 year old son have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at the hotel. I was a little concerned before we left by some of the reviews on here, however we thouroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very cosy and authentic, Just what we would expect from a ski resort. The rooms were clean and cosy. The staff were brilliant, especially the fact that they helped us to find an area to take our son sledging as he was to little for the childrens area Mirlo blanco, and there was not so much snow only on the slopes. The breakfast was fabulous, great choice, something for everyone. Also the free shuttle which takes you from the hotel to the town was great. All in all we had a fabulous time and will deffinately be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffi0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had read the reviews before we left, we expected the noise from other rooms as it was high season we heard a little from the room next door but nothing else, was very surprised by how well run the hotel was considering the reviews, staff were excellant helped me cancel my train tickets to Madrid no problems, served by great staff in restaurant and bar, Food was European and tasty, loved the location Ski in Ski off brillant, parking was ample outside but extremely expensive to park inside but because of its limited size designed to appeal to rich people so that others wouldnt complain because would be full otherwise. WiFi only in reception but at least it was free.Loved it, will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

As other reviews state this definately is not the standard you would expect from a 5* hotel so don't expect luxury! It is really a very average 3* building although attractive from the outside is a basic concrete block which is very obvious from the noise from other guests when you are in your room. This really should not be the case in a 5*.

The bathroom although has at some point been upgraded has not had a full makeover - a white bath, cream loo/bidet and basins. The 'newer' tiling could do with being continued right round the room. In other ski resort hotels we have always had heated towel rails which was not the case here. They do provide all the bits and pieces, comb, razor and toothbrush and the shower gel/shampoo is really very good.

The floor of the room was freezing laminate flooring although slippers are provided. A carpet would be more cosy and cut down the noise.

The mini bar fridge was not working or replenished when we used anything from it.

The room was over all very tired looking although the furnishings were new the old rough plastered walls which supposed to add charm only serve to give the appearance of being weary and needing an update which is a shame.

The food in the restaurant is definately a no go area and the food combinations leaves a lot to be desired. Duck (thinly sliced) and rasberry sauce with a bed of cabbage and mushrooms? The belly pork which is usually pretty good in Spain was a cheat! Shredded underneath a cut square of slightly brown fat - it looked more like a lasagne! Where is the a la carte restaurant if you are 5*???

In the bar although the spirits were extortionate - 12 euro for a gin or whisky I must say the pizza was very good!! This is where we would eat another time.

On a positive note the staff at this hotel are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good. The proximity to the slopes is excellant and we would return and give it another chance for these reasons. We will try to upgrade to a better room.

Free taxi service to the village or a chair lift which is very handy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vindalanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you have dedicated to write your opinions and feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to know that the location, staff, breakfasts, toiletries and transport service were to your liking and that you intend to stay with us again. That our clients have a good experience in our hotel is what we strive for every day, and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
We are sorry, however, that some details were not to your liking. We would like to inform you that we will keep in mind all of your comments, as without a doubt, they will help us continue to improve our service.
We would like to clarify, however, that although the air heating is sufficient for the majority of our guests we also have radiators available for clients who would like one.
In relation to our food, we would like to note that our restaurant offers the possibility of having dinner from the menu or the buffet and that, additionally, the hotel has a snack menu with reasonable prices.
We are at your disposal for anything you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottigham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is probably the best hotel in the resort and having a ski lift by the front door is fantastic. The hotel has a free taxi service into the resort. Rooms are big and have wonderful views of the mountain. Levels of service and luxury do not merit the 5th star, but its the best you can get at the top of a mountain! As in all hotels, the sofa bed was awful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Having read a lot of people moaning about their experiences here I was expecting very little. What a mistake that was!
On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room as they were not heavily booked, the room was huge and I assume much better than a normal room, the views of the mountains was amazing

Food was just unbeatable, what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The whole experience was just faultless.

Everything you could wish, extremely practical for equipment hire and the ski lift was just outside the door!

Highly recommended in every area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, "Community Manager" at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have just returned from a four night stay in this hotel. Good points were;

Large warm room,
Good beds,
Great breakfasts,
Cosy lounge area,
Excellent spa treatments.

Poor areas;
Room was not cleaned during our stay; the maid just made the beds, changed some of the towels and emptied the (broken) waste bin.
On the first day we returned at 14,00 having left the hotel at 9,30am, to find our room had not been serviced. We were told by reception that the cleaners were very busy that day. No apology.
Reception kept us waiting for 50 mins for the mini bus down to the ski village as she forgot to tell the driver we were there.
We were not informed of the 20+ euro charge per day for car parking. When we realised half way through the stay, we complained to reception and were spoken to by a very aggressive rude gentleman who waved his finger in our faces.

Definitely not a 5 star standard hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikollina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
To our esteemed guest,

First off, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post your thoughts about your experience at our hotel. We regret that your stay with us was not that which you had hoped for, and we are sincerely sorry that this is the case.

We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the price of parking at the hotel. We always notify our guests about this during the check-in process, and, if for whatever reason this was not made clear, the information is also posted in the lobby and in the room directory.

Aside from this issue, we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our facilities and our breakfast service.

We work hard to satisfy our guests, and it is the feedback we receive from our customers that always serves to guide in this respect.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada
0.4 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHM Monachil
Hotel GHM Monachil
#10 of 13 in Nevada
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HG Maribel
HG Maribel
#7 of 13 in Nevada
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Lodge
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenia Nevada
Kenia Nevada
#8 of 13 in Nevada
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya

Property: Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
Address: Urbanizacion Sol y Nieve, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nevada
#3 Spa Hotel in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya Hotel Sierra Nevada
Vincci Sierra Nevada
Vincci Hotel Seleccion Rumaykiyya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing