We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique park location”

Natchez National Historical Park
Ranked #17 of 49 things to do in Natchez
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park contains three important sites for history buffs: Fort Rosalie, the William Johnson House and the Melrose estate.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique park location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely old mansions under severe renovation during our visit. The gardens and location is excellent. There is also a wonderful old train engine on display. Loved all the history provided.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
311 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“National Park Service Gem”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Make sure you take the Ranger Tour of the Melrose Mansion. It's worth a trip to Natchez all by itself. The self-guided Johnson House was interesting, too. Parking is tight. The Fort Rosalie site is no longer available for viewing. This is a wonderful stop before starting out on the Natchez Trace Parkway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLoggerheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
392 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Plan to spend a little more time.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The National Park service has two properties to visit in Nachez. Melrose mansion and the Johnson house. I wish we had more time to visit and take a full tour of both. The Melrose house is one of the most historically accurate furnished mansions in the south. The self guide tour of the slave quarters is worth seeing because it provides a good insight on what life must have been like in the old south. Spend a few days in this old city and enjoy the history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 98502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Michael
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“William Johnson house”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After seeing the grand homes of the wealthy, its nice to see the home of a black barber in town. His story is told well in the lower level and the upstairs living quarters show how the family lived. At the larger homes we heard about the rich people and their slaves, here we hear about a black man and his customers all told and illustrated in his journals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only toured the Melrose Estate and found it very interesting and educational. The slavery display was simple but well done. The exterior of the house was under renovation, but it didn't diminish the experience. The fee to tour was minimal at $10 per adult and $5 per child. Credit cards are not accepted so bring cash.

The Park Ranger who led our tour was as entertaining as he was informational. He enlivened the tour for our kids and was excellent at explaining the various aspects of the house along with telling the story of the history of the home and its owners.

We enjoyed the grounds, but they would certainly be more exquisite in spring. There were some flowering trees in bloom. The recent ice storm did cause some damage to some trees.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Natchez National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Natchez National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing