We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for our family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience for our family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family stopped here on the way to the beach July 6th. My boys loved this place and it was a great experience for our family. After an afternoon exploring the city and a great dinner, we explored the yards at Linden and played games on the porch. It was a wonderful night. We hadn't seen lightning bugs in so long and they were lighting up the gardens! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Jeanette and Carlyn were great hosts. We can't wait to come back to Linden. After breakfast we toured the house and learning the history of the property, made us fall in love with the place even more!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    32
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Where to start with this place? First of all, the grounds are lovely and expansive. There are pretty flowers everywhere. They have a nice ice maker on the porch. They also had a nice television in the room. The old window panes are very pretty. The little biscuits were good.
My first complaint is that the visitor's center referred us here. We showed up to be told by the owner that she wanted us to pay in cash or check because credit card fees were so high and she had given us a discount at $160 a night. In my opinion this should have been made clear at the visitor's center. My friends did go to an ATM because they desperately wanted to stay in a southern mansion. There was clearly no great demand because we were the only ones there. Since the Hampton Inn charged $125 for the same night, I didn't consider that a discount.
My second complaint-no Internet access-enough said.
Next problem was the air conditioning. One room had no control on the AC as the controls were in an adjacent locked room. The other room had a window AC that was either plugged in and on full blast or unplugged and off. It was as loud as a lawn mower and practically froze the nose off my face. I was up and down all night unplugging it and plugging back in. It was ungodly hot outside so no going without it. The first night I slept with a pillow over my face. I am always hot so an AC has to be unusual to freeze me out. It's the first one I've ever seen with no controls on it.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 am, convenient for the hosts but it certainly is not for people who like to sleep until 9 when on vacation. Food consisted of cheese grits, biscuits, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, and a dish of fruit, a glass of orange juice and coffee. The servant was very polite and amenable.
The bed I slept in was not comfortable and the pillows felt like the ones you can buy for five dollars at Wal-Mart. The coverlet/blanket was some kind of acrylic knitted thing that felt horrible.
My last complaint is the distance from town. It is more than two miles away. My preference for not having to drive everywhere we went was nixed. The request for in town, Internet access and good air conditioning was clearly ignored by the visitor's center.
If it is important to you to sleep in an old house and pretend you are Scarlett O'Hara, then this is the place. I prefer modern conveniences. You can always tour the mansions and stay in a nice hotel. Just be forewarned and do your own research, don't rely on the visitor's center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cehenrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I spent our 2nd wedding anniversary in Natchez and stayed at the Linden. They were able to accomodate our Truck and Bass Boat (which others did not have the parking). The owner/operator lives at the house and her and her staff were full of stories and history about the house and Natchez. They made dinner reservations for us and gave great insight as to what to see and do. We stayed in "dicks room" which had a huge king size bed and private beth. All the necessaties that one would need while staying in the period. I loved the sound of the old wood floors squeaking. We will go back and we will stay at the Linden when we do!
Awesome place and Awesome people!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here and absolutely loved it!!! Ms.Janette and Ms.Carlynn were some of the sweetest ladies we've meet and were very hospitable. Their suggestions for food were excellent. My husband and I stayed in Marjorie's room. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed seeing all the original pieces and hearing about the history of The Linden. I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My mom and I made a last minute decision to do a road trip and tour plantations. I am soooo ahppy that we picked the Linden to stay at. Being great by karlyn made me feel at home. She was so wonderful and accomodating. She made excellent suggestions and helped map out our tours. Sitting on the porch visiting with Jeannette was also a highlight. I wish I had the energy she does. Wonderful breakfast and such a great tour. Also the best night's sleep of my life. I need to know where they got these sheets!!!I would highly recommend Linden as a place to stay whether it is 2 people or 10. Thanks for such a great experience!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

this was fabulous, they were gracious from start to finish, we stayed in Dicks room and the little room of to the side of it, beautiful! jannette and her helper were amazing, super sweet, breakfast 830 consists of grits, Cajun sausage, scrambled eggs, a slice of watermelon and biscuits, they have the basic laid out for you in the dining hall, so that when you sit down, it's waiting on you, then they bring the biscuits around for you, the rooms were beautiful and they give you a tour after breakfast

Room Tip: dicks room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiregirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Linden is a beautiful large house that is now open for tours and run as a bed and breakfast by, if I count correctly, the 4th and 5th generation of the second owner. Much of the furniture has been in the house for a very long time, so it is a great way to experience what life during the cotton boom was like. Beyond that, Linden's real charm for me was that it still feels as if the family is living in it. The guest rooms are large, with high ceilings, and the living room and verandah are comfortable places to sit in history supported by calm hospitality.

Room Tip: The bigger ones are in the main house, the rooms in the wings are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
1.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.5 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.5 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#8 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Linden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Conner Cir, Natchez, MS 39120-7045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linden Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden is beautifully situated in a serene park-like seven acre setting. The quiet and beauty of our grounds leads you to believe you are out in the country, yet Linden is just 3 or 4 minutes from the center of downtown Natchez and just a mile from the Mississippi River. A very large number of National and State Historic Registry sites can be seen within our walkable downtown area. When you come to stay at Linden, you will reside within the walls of the home; there are no dependencies or out-buildings at Linden. You will breakfast in the formal dining room, as favored guests should. We realize and appreciate the privilege you have given us by choosing Linden for your stay in Natchez. We believe that you deserve to experience true Southern Hospitality that meets and in fact exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Linden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing