We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat”
Review of Marcia's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marcia's Cottages
Ranked #9 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I couldn't agree more with the other excellent reviews. We stayed in Elmsley Cottage recently with another family. The cottage was done beautifully and was well stocked with everything that either the adults or kids could want. The manager, Dale, was extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
30
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was in Natchez recently for a wedding and stayed at Marcia's Cottage - it was a wonderful experience and couldn't ask for a better value. The cottage we stayed in was decorated beautifully, had plenty of room, and was full of little things to make the stay more enjoyable like plenty of snacks, drinks, and even a bottle of wine. Marcia and Dale are great hosts and treated us like family. We were able to look in several of their other houses and each one is beautifully done - it is obvious that these people take a lot of pride in what they offer and the service they provide. We were so glad we chose to stay here as opposed to a hotel as it has great southern charm and is a much more relaxing and enjoyable way to visit the city. I highly recommend staying at one of Marcia's Cottages and am certainly planning to come back for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcot08, General Manager at Marcia's Cottages, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We appreciate your thoughtful review and look forward to your return(s) - Natchez has so much to offer and we do enjoy sharing it with folks who appreciate "southern hospitality".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

There are few bed and breakfasts in Natchez that will rent to people with young children. Marcia's is one of them, probably because each house is private. We were lucky enough to get the Elmsley and it was beautiful and spacious. It gave the children some room to spread out. We even got some mid-trip laundry done.

The breakfasts were good and plentiful. The snacks and provisions supplied were overly generous and very much appreciated. Despite the cost, Marcia's is a good value considering the breakfast, snacks, and laundry.

The kids are still talking about their "cottage" in Mississippi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestFamilyTvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcot08, Manager at Marcia's Cottages, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We very much appreciate your review. Our feeling is that the type of folks that look for our type of offering have children that appreciate nice surroundings. Our cottages are intended to be family-friendly for a great "home away from home" experience". Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We found Marcia's cottages to be top notch - the kitchen was amazing with all it's supplies and accessories. The interior decorating was impeccable and the staff were delightful. An easy walk to anywhere in town. Only small complaint was that the bed was too soft for our older backs. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They're all lovely - we had the second floor, front bedroom that had access to a sunny balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabaster, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

These folks go out of their way to make you feel at home. My wife and I were with three other couples and rented the cottage for a long weekend. We had a great time touring Natchez and the surrounding area. It was great to wake up and find a delicious breakfast awaiting us in the refrigerator. All we had to do was heat it up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wonderful experience! Beautiful, elegant, and comfortable cottage! Food was great, and the service was exceptional! Very accomodating and attentive, could not have asked for better service! Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

If you've found availability - book it now!! Don't bother looking anymore. These units are GORGEOUS and SUPER CLEAN.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner about restaurants to visit. She had EXCELLENT recomendations. Also, not all rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#2 of 17 in Natchez
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 40 in Natchez
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcia's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcia's Cottages

Property: Marcia's Cottages
Address: South Pearl Street Washington Street and Cemetery Road, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in or close to the heart of downtown Natchez, MS, our six renovated or built-new cottages/guest houses offer affordable luxuries of upscale hotels with the privacy, conveniences, and charm of fine Southern homes. Whether you choose a cottage with one bedroom, two bedrooms or four bedrooms, you'll enjoy the spaciousness of home with the convenience of full kitchen facilities, upscale decor, gathering space and patios coupled with the opportunity of walking to Main Street, to antebellum homes or to the Mississippi River. You'll want to revisit us often to experience the finest accommodations and the best of Southern hospitality with amenities that make travel comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing