We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. OK Room. Great Place To Visit.”
Review of Super 8 Natchez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Natchez
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We opted for a chain hotel rather than one of the much more expensive houses you can stay at - as they all had such mixed reviews on here it didn't seem worth the extra money.

Don't be fooled by stories of Natchez being a tourist destination - it is, and it's beautiful and absolutely a must-visit, but it's also very very quiet! You may find yourself walking the downtown historic district and feeling like you're the only visitor in town!!

Our room was just okay. It was fine, I was just disappointed that it was fairly dark and had a small window and no way to sit and 'look out' at the sunshine. We tried to change rooms but were told they were all the same - seems odd as other people have said they got views over the mississippi. So it was good value and a great location for visiting all the sites, but the actual room was just a bit disappointing. It did have a small fridge though which was great - we bought food at the local Walmart and this helped save some money (especially as Natchez really seems to be lacking places to eat!).

We did visit the famous 'Malt Shop' - a roadside drive up with great milkshakes and sweet tea. We also fell in love with the local Sonic (we are from London so this was a complete novelty to us!).

The best thing about the hotel was that from the car park, you could see the Mississippi river and the massive bridge across it. I've uploaded a photo of what it looked like at night. The shame was the claim that there weren't any rooms with a river view, which I find hard to believe.

Overall, fairly 'average' but still a great stay.

We visited Longwood, Stanton and Roalie houses - all great. And had dinner twice at The Castle at Dunleith - gorgeous and we'd probably try to stay there next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view, if in fact they do exist!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Natchez
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed one night - was not impressed at all. Room could have used a deep cleaning - the overall appearance looked clean but as other reviewers said nothing was moved or little effort done with cleaning. There were cobwebs from the higher fixtures also from the sprinkler from the ceiling. The bathtub actually had the pink mold around some of the caulking. That in itself could have easily been bleached and scrubbed. There was dust on the dresser and desk. When we got in the room there was no a/c on and very hot in there. We noticed that there was no a/c in the hall and it was very hot out there. Asked one of the housekeepers in the morning and the reply was they don't know but they leave room doors open to get some air. Inquired at the desk when I checked out and was told oh no they should be on someone must have shut them off. Basically save money by not putting air on in the halls or before someone checks in.
The room itself was a decent size and we had a view of the bridge which looked nice at night. The breakfast in the morning was average usual cereal, packaged pastries, waffle maker, juice, etc. I didn't have anything but the coffee. Tiny sitting area for people who wanted to eat.
For the price of $100 which was way overpriced for this hotel I did not find anything that would say I would come back again. You would probably be better off looking elsewhere for your accommodations. The town itself was really pretty to drive through and look at all the mansions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

everything was fine until appr 430am, felt movement on my face, then in my hair, after falling back asleep, woke again after 10 to 15 min, felt somthing in hair again and crawling in my arm, went into bathroom with light as to not wake up spouse, brushed hair over sink and had ants fall out, woke up spouse, lights on... had( thousands) of ants coming through wall socket and climbing up our bed to my pillow.... notified fromt desk, manager on duty came up, turned mattress, pulled all blankets of bed, put in a pile on floor, we then told him we would check out and would like a refund for room..............He called owner of hotel---- would only give us back half of our room charge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice hotel, clean and the staff were welcoming. Get a second floor odd numbered room and you get a great view of the Mississippi,

Room Tip: Choose an odd numbered second floor room and get a great view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom55033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Overall, the hotel is decent and that's about it. It wasn't as clean as you would expect for $100, but not too bad. The only things we noticed were some stray hairs in the bathroom tub, embedded in a washcloth, and some light stains on the towels. Other than that, it was a clean room and the room (a king) was fairly spacious. The AC in the room made a racket until it ran for about 10 minutes, then it quieted down to normal. The bed was comfy enough for a Best Western and the TV was easy to use.

The breakfast could use some additions. The eating area isn't very large, and the counter space for getting food was pretty small, so try to go down early. 1 waffle maker, cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and from-concentrate juices are the extent of the variety. We stayed at a BW in Vicksburg that had eggs and biscuits and gravy, so we were a little disappointed in this one's offereings. But the food was good.

The higher price is no doubt driven by the casinos close by. But with a lack of chain hotels in Natchez, this one is acceptable, but in terms of hotels in general you will be overpaying for what you get.

Room Tip: Upper story rooms on the west (back side) of the building will offer a good view of the huge bridges...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G00S3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Got here late on a Saturday night and checked out Sunday morning before we visited downtown Natchez. This is a newer hotel. Free breakfast in the morning was about average, not many places to sit. Decent enough experience, so would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This has become our first choice to stay at when visiting Natchez. We have always gotten a good rate for the area, even during Natchez's tourist seasons. The rooms are always clean and we especially like having a refrigerator and microwave in the room along with the TV and free internet service. It is very convenient to everything and the view of the bridge is very nice - especially at night. The pool is very small though and we have never eaten the breakfast. The only complaint we have ever had is that the bathtub is very creaky/noisy. We have stayed here three times so far over the last couple of years and have always enjoyed our visits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSpear234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 17 in Natchez
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Natchez
Days Inn Natchez
#12 of 17 in Natchez
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Natchez

Address: 10 Grand Soleil Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-3836 (Formerly River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Natchez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing