We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Jewel with a Fabulous View”
Review of Hotel Vue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vue
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Spring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel with a Fabulous View”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Grand Soliel Natchez (new name: Vue Hotel) was a wonderful find. It is located atop a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. The room was spacious, clean and bright. A microwave and refrigerator are included in most rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Vue restaurant had great food and a fabulous view of the Mississippi River. The accomodations and ammenities were so nice we extended our stay. We definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again. (There were no signs showing the name of the hotel on the building or at the foot of the hill leading up to the hotel - Don't worry, signs with the hotel's new name (Vue Hotel) are in the works and should be up soon.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    101
    53
    17
    24
See reviews for
81
152
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon. Ms
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A real hidden jewel! The room was clean, bright, and cheery. Nice to have fridge and micro in room. The views of the Mississippi River bridge were stunning. The staff was great and friendly. The Vue restaurant was fabulous. Food was excellent and table was surrounded by glass overlooking the River. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Grand Soleil in Natchez was a very nice to stay. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very clean and had great accomodations. I would recommend this hotel. The restaurant in the hotel was very nice also.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jilly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were walk-ins and were quite pleased with the Grand Soleil. I requested a King room with a river view. There were none available but I was offered a 2 Queen room riverside at a rate of $89. The other reviewers are correct the view is great! The room was fine and does include frig,microwave,room safe. The decor is sort of jarring but that seems to be the norm at casinos, though there is no casino here. The property has a "for sale" sign out front and appears to be in bankruptcy but there was no evidence as far as the service. The oysters on the half shell in the lounge were awesome and a pleasant surprise. Thank you to the elderly gentleman we met on his way out who suggested them. Free breakfast was very tasty although kind of dried out like it had been under a warmer. That was hard to understand since we were there at 730 am and breakfast only started at 7. The dining room has wall to wall glass with Mississippi river view. White tablecloths and excellent service and above average food combined for a good breakfast. I would definely stay at this hotel again. One more thing, another pleasant surprise at check out: the quoted rate was the final total, tax and all.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and something loud came on several times during the night. Most people would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chorn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

First, this place does not have a casino at all. I was working on a film crew and we stayed there for 4 wks. We had rooms in the 'annex' (or the barn as I called it) and it was terrible. The exhaust fan for the bath was so loud, you couldn't talk when it was on much less sleep. The hotel fix was just to disconnect it, so no bath exhaust. The entire floor smelled of cigarettes, not once was our room vacuumed, the amenities were the cheapest possible, I had to fix the modem so there was internet access. The hotel states that all rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. No appliances in the annex at all. Holes in the wall base in the bathrooms, the toilet was not properly secured to the floor, and the safe did not work.
The washer in the laundry was programmed to use so little water, that the clothes never got completely wet, much less got the soap out. The complimentary coffee was always empty and most of the alarm clocks in the rooms did not work.
The restaurant was very good for lunch and dinner but the continental breakfast was a plate set in front of you with one tiny bacon strip, cold grits, and a cold biscuit. No refill on the tiny glass of orange juice, but the coffee was great.
The hotel was paid handsomely for our presence there, but quite obviously considered us cattle; at least anyone staying in the rooms in the annex. Never let them rent you a room in the 400's.
I have stayed in much nicer rooms at a Motel 6 on the side of the interstate than these rooms were.
Since my fellow crew members were there, the problems listed above are common to nearly every room, not just the two I was in.
I will say, the employees of the restaurant, the desk, and the lounge were superb. The housekeeping and maintenance staff should be fired, en masse. I will NEVER stay here again and I will tell everyone I know to never stay as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Go down the hill to the Best Western or camp out for a better stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetser, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a room with a balcony in a second building, this building should not have been available to guests!! It was not finished and had wires hanging on every floor. No elevator, poor lighting and were kept awake from another guest that had a dog in the room. Free breakfast is not worth it, scrambled egg, 1 sausage and grits and oj. Would have rather paid to eat. View of the bridge at night is breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The view of the river and bridges were beautiful especially at night. The rooms were nothing special just a typical hotel room, but the view made up for it. A little pricey but ok. They also have a grill down by the pool every evening, that they cook burgers and hot dogs etc. Smelled great but we had already planned to eat out that night. But if it tases anything like it smelled it should be great.The breakfast was AWESOME!! Not your typical complementary breakfast more like a 4 star breakfast. Something different every morning. The staff here gets a 100!!!They were so nice and always spoke to you. The waiter at breakfast was great made you feel like you were at home. If the price was what you would pay at a typical hotel we would definately stay again. On the door the price showed over $400 a night, would never be worth that. But the view alone makes this a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river, preferably on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof7-Grndmomof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
1.8 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vue

Property: Hotel Vue
Address: 130 John R Junkin Dr, Natchez, MS 39120-3820 (Formerly Grand Soleil Casino Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vue 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VUE Hotel is located on the magnificent bluffs overlooking the mighty Mississippi River with breathtaking views! A complimentary, hot Southern Breakfast is served each morning. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool or a cold beverage while watching glorious sunsets over the River! Newly renovated guest rooms, lounge and Restaurant are offered for our guest's convenience. The shops and Antebellum homes of historic Natchez are one mile from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Soleil Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing