We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Can Feel The History”

Historic Natchez Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alexandria, La
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You Can Feel The History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our walk through part of this historic cemetery gave one a sense of the history of Natchez. Could have spent a longer time reading the inscriptions on the headstones.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    87
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silsbee, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Almost Overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

No trip to Natchez is complete without a visit to the Historic Natchez City Cemetery. The grounds comprise over 90 acres and it is full of amazing history.

The best entrance to take is the third (main) one off Cemetery Rd. It leads to an office building that supplies brochures in the outside mailbox. The brochures provide a layout of the cemetery.

We decided to remain in the older historic part of the cemetery. No parking was provided and we pulled our car as far as we could off the narrow road that ran through the cemetery.

My favorite part was the Confederate burial area. And the nearby Turning Angel burial area. The Angel monument was erected by the Natchez Drug Company over the graves of employees who were killed in the explosion of the drug company in 1908.

The cemetery is a very quiet and serene place to reflect on the lives of all who are buried there. The cemetery opens at 7:00 AM and closes at dusk. Admission is free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

For those who revel in history you should not miss this on a tour of all that Natchez has to offer. Most of all take note of the old Oak tree - it may have lost half of the tree but the fact that horticulturists are trying to save her and have accounted for her age at 600 years she should not be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you love history you must see the Natchez Cemetery. There are several hundred historical person's buried there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Found our friend's distant relative and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a beautiful Cemetary. For those of us who enjoy this type of attraction it is full of history and stories. We actually bought a cd that mentioned the relative. We did not use it to tour the Cemetary but wish we had because it was full of interesting stories that we enjoyed listening to on our car drive back home but wished we could have actually seen the graves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Natchez Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Historic Natchez Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing