We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOLO TRAVELER NOT LONELY OR LONESOME”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2011

WOW!!!!!!!! Durell and all his coupled guests were extremely friendly. I never felt alone or lonesome for company. From Durell's first words, I felt like I was staying in the home of an old friend. This is the old South in which I was reared. The manners, charm and refinement are the epitomy of the genteel way of life in this wonderful home. Not only is the breakfast a true Southern meal but it is consumed in the manner of all Southern meals, we dine, we do not eat and run. All of the other guests are friendly and mingle on the verandah with each other and Durell watching the Mississippi roll by. Watching the sun go down on the river with a glass of wine and Durell;s stories is an experience never to be forgotten. Looking at the river at night with the lights from the bridge reflecting on it, is like watching lace dance across the river. The rooms are charming for the single girl and romantic for the couples. My friends who stayed in a chain motel were jealous when they saw my room and the house. They like I, were mesmerized by Durell. This is gracious hospitality at its finest.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JacquelineMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

As a direct result of the many complimentary reviews we had previously read on TripAdvisor, we booked a two-night stay at the Riverside B&B in Natchez, MS. This was one of the most incredible experiences we have had at any of the B&B's where we have stayed. The owner , R. Durrell Epperson, was as warm and friendly as any host we have ever met. We actually felt like we were staying at the home of a long-time friend rather than at a B&B. The accommodations were superb, the food and wine were excellent, and we left feeling like we had made a new friend! Definitely an experience we would recommend to anyone considering a trip to Natchez!.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise030711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My fiance and I are from New Jersey. We flew south to escape winter's wrath and experience southern hospitality. When planning our trip we discovered Natches, which is like the Cape May of Mississippi. We chose to stay in Riverside because of all of the great reviews.

Dorel, the owner/host extraordinaire, has done an amazing job with his splendid B&B! Riverside is absolutely stunning! It is so intricately decorated and immaculately clean! From the moment that we arrived we felt so welcome in his home! We stayed in what I call the Princess room because the bed is an 1858 ironwork masterpiece with a crown on top of the canopy. Dorel told us that it was made for a Spanish princess! We arrived at Riverside in the early evening. As soon as we dropped off our bags, Dorel asked us if we had dinner plans. Then, he recommended Castle restaurant and even helped make a reservation. When he returned, he offered us a carafe of wine, as well as a bowl of snacks. YUM! Before dinner, we spent some time relaxing in the upstairs parlor by the fireplace, which was so charming! After dinner we kept exploring Dorel's library in the upstairs parlor and we enjoyed taking a bath in our large claw foot tub! In the morning we woke up to a tray of coffee, which we drank on the balcony facing the Mississippi. Then, we took a walk on the path along the river. FInally, it was breakfast time! OMG! It was absolutely the best breakfast we've ever had. Never mind the beautifully set table, the meal was incredible! We had a ham and cheese omelet, asparagus with hollandaise sauce, the best grits ever with cheese, sausage patties, nutty dollar pancakes, a wide selection of breads and biscuits with butter and 2 types of jam, plus coffee, tea, OJ, and water. Delicious! Dorel also gave us lots of tips about what to do for the duration of our trip. We were heading to New Orleans. He was an amazing host, his price is super reasonable, and his B&B is absolutely beautiful! If you are staying in Natches you must spend the night at Riverside!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pschneid221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This has been at least our sixth trip to Natchez & Riverisde. We do not even look at any oher place to book a room/or B&B. Each time since we visit, we feel we are visiting a friend. Mr. Durrell Epperson welcomes you at the door, invites you to sit down on the porch and watch the sunset with a glass of wine. In the morning once Mr. Epperson hears our footsteps, there is a knock at the door. When we open it, there is a beautiful silver tray with coffe cups, pot and "the fixings". The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. He is very gracious,knowledgeble of the area and history. He has a wonderful sense of humor. The B&B itself, is very beautiful and inviting with a breathtaking view of the river, MS bridge along with sunrises and sunsets. When we leave there are hugs & kisses goodbye and looking forward to our return. True southern charm!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dekarow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The approach to the house is attractively planted. In front is a lovely brick patio with 2 fountains, perched over a cliff, with a breath-taking view of the Mississippi. The house is a jewel, painstakingly restored and furnished with period pieces by host Durell. (The accomodations are also very comfortable). The host is gracious, delightful -- full of humorous and informative stories about the house, town of Natchez and its people. Several good restaurants are a 10 minute walk down the path which runs between the house and the river. We enjoyed the informal "Cotton Alley Cafe". In the morning our host served us the breakfast of B&B breakfasts with several unexpected (and delicious additions) to the eggs, sausage and home-made biscuits.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank jockular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

A truly wonderful place. Beautiful home, gorgeous antiques, tremendous view, oustanding food, and the absolute best host ever. Durrell Epperson is so accomodating. He can entertain for hours with his wonderful stories. He makes you feel like you have know him forever. The wine is ever flowing. It is more like you are staying with a friend than at a bed and breakfast. We will go back soon and often.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utmsu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This was a first trip for me without my husband - my girlfriends came with me to help get
over the lose of him. I love the old south and Riverside B & B helped me to reenact what
it must have been like. The house is fantastic with its furnishings and service. It's Durell
that makes the stay so special. Waking up to have coffee at your doorstep to start the day
and then a breakfast that is nothing like you would ever find anywhere. You'll be
dieting once you leave. Durell is a wonderful storyteller and you literally have to tear
yourself a way to get anything else done. Also, he is a wealh of information on the
area. Go see for yourself.
Pat from Philadelphia

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SACPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.1 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#4 of 17 in Natchez
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#2 of 17 in Natchez
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 41 in Natchez
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twins Oaks Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 41 in Natchez
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Clifton Ave, Natchez, MS 39120-2307
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Natchez
Riverside b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing