We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding home and host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding home and host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

As you will read in the other reviews, Durrell is a fabulous host. From your interaction on the phone with him for reservations (no Internet), to his wonderful homemade breakfast, Durrell will strive to please you and charm you with his stories of Natchez and New Orleans. Durrell had suggestions on places to visit and restaurants which turned out to all be excellent. We stayed two nights in March 2014 during Spring Pilgrimage, so we toured the beautiful homes and mansions of Natchez. But one of the finest homes that we went in to was the one that we stayed at, Riverside B & B. The home is literally on the edge of a high bluff overlooking the Mississippi River with only a jogging path in front of Durrell's beautiful gardens. I am sure that we will be returning.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs west room with a view of the MS bridge lit up at night and my wife loved the 4 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbretm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Durell, the owner was a hoot. You wont find him and his personal touch at any other B&B. Pays attention to the details in running a great B&B. Not all the fancy big B&B places but loaded with antiques, china, silver, old books...I could live here. And the view..like no other. We were upstairs and the morning coffee looking over the Mississippi was great. No computer/creditcards/ but a great deal. Breakfast was also outstanding. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs. It was just a great personal experence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, MN
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a registered National Historic House owned by a colorful gentleman who has had many interesting experiences and enjoys talking about them. The home is decorated in Victorian Style with matching furniture brought by the host from New Orleans where he had previously lived. The ambiance of the home matches that of the mansions in Natchez, although the B&B is considered a cottage because it is not large enough to be called a mansion. The furnishings, lamps, figurines, etc. are consistent with the period and the host is happy to talk about them (he could easily upstage many of the ‘experts’ on Antiques Roadshow!).

We stayed in the first floor suite (no steps) that consists of two bedrooms and provides plenty of space, plus we had the run of the house. The breakfasts were excellent with grits, biscuits, sausage, fruit compote, and specialty scrambled eggs.

Be aware that this is not like a hotel experience: (1) there is no internet although a flat screen TV is available with many cable channels; (2) seating is limited in the two bedrooms with several Victorian chairs and a loveseat; (3) getting there is a little tricky, requiring a drive down a one lane alley to enter the back of the home (Clifton St does not run through).

As other reviews have pointed out, the view of the Mississippi is as good as it gets, but can only be enjoyed by sitting on the covered front porch or walking in the small garden (see pics in some of the other reviews). You can see the river out of the high narrow windows in the front bedroom, but the seating arrangements do not lend themselves to laying back and enjoying the view indoors (only a problem if it is too cold or hot to sit outside, or the mosquitoes are too active which was not the case in January when we were there).

The easiest way of driving to the B&B is to go north on Linton Ave from Madison to Oak (watch out for the two speed bumps), then turn left and make another quick left into the alley (one lane) and take it for about half a block until you see the Riverside sign on the right. There is room to park diagonally off the alley, and you can leave by continuing down the alley to Mulberry, then making a left back out to Linton. Consult a Google map to see the street pattern but be aware that the map is not entirely accurate as Clifton Ave does not go through from Madison to Oak. The Google map I consulted also shows Riverside B&B as above (or North) of Oak Street while it is actually about half a block to the South.

In conclusion, while this B&B does not have all the conveniences of a hotel, it is, at least for most people, an experience not to be missed! Also, the room rate was quite a bargain for what was offered. The owner is very accommodating, e.g. providing wine and ice, and very helpful with recommendations.

Room Tip: Suite on first level requires no steps and has both a queen bed and a full bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had an annual family "mini-reunion" 1-3 November with 2 other couples and booked all three rooms....it was amazing to have the whole home to ourselves. The home is a spectacular antebellum home, beautifully furnished with period antiques and a million dollar view from all rooms, sitting high on the bluff overlooking the mighty Mississippi. The view from the gallery at sunset with a glass of wine...priceless!! Our weekend was made even more spectacular with the most amazing host ever...Durell! His stories, knowledge of the area, spectacular breakfasts, attentiveness and local sights and restaurant recommendations were spot-on! This was a visit we all will remember forever. Personally...the Riverside B&B is the ONLY place to stay in Natchez...hands down the crown jewell of Natchez B&Bs!

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinslettL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We entertained friends from the Netherlands on the Blues Trail from Memphis to New Orleans and Durrell and his beautiful home and hospitality was the highlight of the trip - true Southern Hospitality and charm - can't wait to return and stay longer - GREAT VIEW & LOCATION!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Emogene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first B&B experience and it would be hard to top. Durell is so friendly and warm, and quite an interesting character. Has incredible collection of antiques and a very warm and entertaining host. We stayed in the downstairs suite and it was so spacious and beautiful. Very romantic setting. Sitting out on the front porch or on the upper balcony (which is open to all guests) is lovely, with incredible bluff view of Mississippi. That, along with the sound from his beautiful fountains makes for a very soothing and relaxing experience. We stayed three nights, after driving the Trace. I can't imagine a better place to stay in town....the view is unsurpassed. Breakfasts were to die for! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, or you want more room to "spread out", choose the downstairs suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two thoroughly enjoyable nights at this lovely home on a bluff overlooking the great Mississippi River. Owner Durell is a unique individual with a great many entertaining & humerous stories of his life in Natchez & New Orleans. A good location for seeing Natchez sites & hearty breakfasts to boot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.4 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#7 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 211 Clifton Ave, Natchez, MS 39120-2307
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Natchez
Riverside b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing