We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Longwood

Longwood
Ranked #2 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction on this architectural gem, the largest octagonal house in the U.S., began in 1860, but was interrupted by the onset of war. A National Historic Landmark, the still-unfinished mansion is an enduring symbol of the impact of the Civil War.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This house is beautiful, and tragic since it was not completed. The tour guide was great and I felt immersed in the story. Unfortunately I went in July. The bottom floor is lovely. Once you go upstairs, it is so hot! The heat was distracting because I was wanting to listen to every word but part of me was like, "Okay... but can we go back to the AC now?" So that sucks. But it was still worth it. They talk about covering the bricks with stucco. Once they mentioned that here, I noticed several of the other popular houses did the same thing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    275
    63
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfinished beauty!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Recently visited Longwood for the second time. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Cute little gift shop! To me, the best part of the tour is getting to view the unfinished section - which is the bulk of the plantation since only the first floor was completed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LASocialWorket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“History Buff Delight”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Deep in Mississippi a Civil War era find that is one of a kind. If you love history you have to visit Longwood. The round mansion was in the middle of being built when the Civil War broke out - only the basement was completed- and all the Northern workers just stopped where they were in construction and over 150 years later nothing has been touched...Cool!!!! you get to walk though the house and see all the unfinished work preserved for history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MKJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A view of the destruction of the Civil War”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This may have been one of my favorite finds. It showed the dreams of the South before the war. If finished it would have been one of the most spectacular views in the country. However, the war came and the construction stopped. The house is stalled in the state it was left in. I only have two complaints. Our guide needed to be a little more enthusiastic. Also, they need SIGNS ON THE ROAD. I went by the road to the house because it was not well marked.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 733rachelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Walk Back in Time”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was fascinated with the story of the unfinished mansion! We toured the home and grounds, including the family cemetary, which was down the hill and "out in the woods" away from the home a distance . Walking back up the hill was tough in the summer heat, though, and mosquitoes were biting, so be aware if you choose to walk down to it! The basement, where the family lived since the mansion itself was never finished, was as beautiful as any home. The grounds were lovely and peaceful. So much historical information! Carriage house, outdoor kitchen and servants quarters were intact and really interesting to tour, too. I could just imagine how life must have been during that era. Little known fun fact....an episode of True Blood was filmed here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danajo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longwood also viewed

 

Been to Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing