We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Carriage Tours

Southern Carriage Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our group of 5 seniors (2 American, 3 British) recently completed a roadtrip of the Southern States. We started our visit in Natchez with the Visitor Center, followed by a Carriage Tour. The driver was SO knowledgeable - ho told us all kinds of stories as we went along. Our horse, Buddy, was gorgeous and was given generous stops a few times to rest. But the commentary continued even then. It was a Friday evening in early May, and the sun was setting as we ended our tour. The driver suggested that we head over to the bluff by the bandstand afterwards to enjoy the beautiful sunset (very short walk). We are so glad we did! The tour took approximately 1 hour and was well worth it. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 16smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    12
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, relaxing and educational carriage tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we parked the car near the place where the carriage tours start, there was a carriage waiting. The former Marine waited for a little while to see if anyone else would show up and another couple did, so he took the four of us on a relaxing tour trough the center of Natchez. He was very knowledgeable about the history but also knew a lot of people in town and restored a lot of old homes in the village. So, a all round story teller he was. The village is quite enough to have a relaxing carriage tour. Not to be missed, its way less dull than it sounds like ! Its a not to be missed !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great overview in short time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted to have an overview of Natchez, but were very limited on time, due to the miles we needed to make that day. We purchased our carriage tickets at the visitor center, but found out if purchasing for cash you can purchase from the driver. We were the last two to board and sat right behind the driver, which was good for hubby who doesn't hear too well. However the carriage was for 6 people, so not real large. It was an excellent way to get an overview of the city, along with history. It was a very smooth ride and our driver was very informative. He was telling us something about what we were seeing every minute of the tour. He also brought the horse to a stop from time to time when he wanted to tell us more. We never felt the tour was rushed. We are very glad we took time out of our trip to take the carriage ride.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Retired-fun-travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our driver was very knowledgeable and extremely personable. Our horse was adorable! He even smiled. Seriously! Great tour!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TameliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
202 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Interesting tidbits from guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our driver was Guy and horse was Hal. Guy had several funny stories to tell about sites along the tour. The only antebellum home we drove by was Stanton Hall. It is a short tour, but worth it. It was a chilly day when we took the tour and Guy had blankets to keep us warm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Carriage Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Carriage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing