We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and much potential”
Review of Magnolia Grill

Magnolia Grill
Ranked #6 of 94 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Memphis
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food and much potential”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I arrived with another couple for dinner on a Friday evening around 7:00p.m. After we were told it would be about a 45 minute wait, we looked for a place to sit. There was a bar with limited seating, but none available. We were directed out a rear door to a wooden bench to wait…after a couple of minutes, we discovered this was the ‘smoking area,’ so we left that bench to wander the streets in front of the restaurant. Granted, the view overlooking the river is great, but I’d rather not have to pace back and forth for more than half an hour, waiting (some outdoor seating near the riverfront would be a nice addition). Once seated, the service was prompt. My wife and I both had very good seafood dishes (mine the Mahi Mahi special). The dessert we shared, the chocolate pecan pie was excellent, too. However, our table was the close to the bar area and we ate the entire meal with people waiting/standing right behind and close to our table. With some brick walls inside, it was very loud. Total for dinner including 2 entrees, drinks and a shared dessert was just over $80.
Although the food and service was very good, it’s not a place I’ll return…just not the environment I like when trying to enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grizfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    326
    115
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the tour guide at Longwood. Really enjoyed our meal, especially the fried dill pickles for an appetizer. Pretty view of the sunset on the Mississippi as well.

Helpful?
Thank ZouGal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Food was freshly made, and delicious. Seems like a family run business which I like. Right on riverfront too, so nice views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I guess with this great of a location you don't have to have the best food. Everything but the food is amazing. Oh what a view. We are non professional food critics (we eat out all the time.) And this place went from what we thought was an amazing start with the dip to a poor finish with the shrimp entrees. Not impressed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, MS
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be sure to eat here.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Magnolia Grill is an awesome restaurant to eat lunch or dinner when you visit Natchez. It faces the Mississippi River down under the hill. Ask to eat on the porch if possible. The staff is very friendly and takes care of their customers. Be sure to make reservations even on a week night. My husband had the red fish and I had the shrimp and grits were very good and cooked just right. They have wonderful appetizers and desserts. When you are in Natchez, be sure to eat at the Magnolia Grill. You will be pleased if you eat here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bullie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia Grill also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing