We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no tour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn and Gardens

Monmouth Historic Inn and Gardens
Ranked #21 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

we drove to Monmouth because I had always heard that it was one of the BEST.. But to our surprise, we did not get a tour because they only tour at 10:00 a.m....That is not mentioned in the tour directory . Please list this information in the tour books so other won't be disappointed and they can plan a tour at Rosalie, or another home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AnteBellum at it finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Grounds are fantastic and tour was with a woman who was a native of Natchez and remembered the decay of the mansion before restoration.

Really recommend this Mansion (Bed and Breakfast) tour. If quaint is your enjoyment, would be a great stay. Being Tall limited me to one of two rooms-both rented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Never enjoyed a meal here, they cancelled us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

1818 was anticipated by us for a meal, but it was not meant to be. Our reservation (2 mos early) was cancelled by them with no notice to us. We had to make other plans. Even if they are extra special, the wedding they planned was never announced to us. Be careful if you have plans here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Antebellum home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Monmouth is a beautifully restored antebellum home that is full of beautiful furnishings and scenic wallpaper in the entry hall. Monmouth is also a B&B and although I have never stayed here, I have seen the rooms and they are beautifully furnished. There are lots of weddings and parties held on the grounds which are beautifully landscaped, complete with a small lake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaSPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tours an after thought”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I understand the mansions need to have additional revenue to maintain the property and Manmouth is no exception. It seemed that the main purpose of the mansion is either hotel or restaurant. As I sat in the garden waiting for the tour to begin I felt like an intruder to the hotel guests. Our tour guide repeated that she was tired from spending the day in class and couldn't concentrate on her tour speech. The mansion boasts of having the best mint juleps, confirmed by a certificate from the Kentucky Colonels but we were given an opportunity to purchase a drink. It was a hurried 30 minute tour that seemed to be an after thought.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank svm621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monmouth Historic Inn and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing