We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free breakfast was AWESOME tasty and filling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #5 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

It's really hard for me to find hospitality options that know how to accomodate my required diet for Celiac Disease. Eleanor is an excellent cook w/ proper awareness and knowledge of how to keep the meal gluten free, and she went above and beyond what I asked for. I plan to travel back to Natchez for more get-a-ways with my husband, and I will only stay here. We were actually in the "Aunt Clara's Cottage" and we loved it. -Lynnette Molin

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamptonpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was probably our favourite B&B/Hotel on our recent 4 week trip to the Southern States of America and that is saying something. We stayed in the Elmo room in Aunt Clara's Cottage just down the road from the main house. It is very quiet, clean, elegant and roomy with a large bathroom. The cottage is in a very good location. The first night we walked into the centre of Historic Natchez to eat at a lovely restaurant, Cotton Alley, and then walked back in the dark, no problem. After that we tended to use the car as we discovered that parking in Natchez is plentiful and free. We particularly enjoyed sitting out on the verandah, each morning before Eleanor called us in for breakfast and each evening before going out to eat. The breakfasts were excellent and Eleanor made me the first decent English cup of tea of our whole trip! She is an excellent hostess. For us she has the perfect balance - nothing is too much trouble for her but, at the same time, she doesn't overfuss, making it a comfortable and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKLynneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Coming in from New Orleans, we sincerely appreciated just how quiet this place was. Slept exceptionally well on the giant bed in the Victorian room of Clara's Cottage. Great shower (always important). Wifi was a snap and I did not have to ask (I was a bit spaced from the drive). Would go back to stay in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erik_glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This was our second time in Aunt Clara's Cottage, an appendage of Devereaux Shields B & B just down the block- - because we can bring our dog with us and stay there. It is a lovely, lovely cottage with 4 spacious bedrooms, each with bath. It has a wonderful porch to sit and read on, and the hosts, Ron and Eleanor, are the best. They tend to your every need and supply loads of information. The breakfasts are tasty and plentiful (the bowl of fresh fruit is a big plus), and the cottage is located right in the center of the small town. Walking around the area provides interesting architecture, and you can walk to several of the houses on the pilgrimmage from here. It is simply a delightful place to stay, no stairs for people with leg problems except up to the porch, and some of the best people you're going to run into in Natchez. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are tastefully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtoninarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

rooms very nice, terrible breakfast, we had quiche no toast no yogurt, no cereal, did not receive a very warm welcome, it may have been because we were from the UK. It seems they are only interested in the money, I do not think they enjoy this I think they just do it for the money, would not recommend this place. The bathroom was very very smal in fact it was clostaphobic. We stayed in Clara's Cottage.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesdon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

We are very sorry we did not meet this guest’s expectations. We must confess they did not share their disappointment with us during their stay so we could have made amends. We appreciate they liked our rooms as we constantly strive to improve our homes, our rooms and amenities. We feel a great breakfast is an essential part of our Bed & Breakfast guest experience. Visitors to our hospitality state of MS routinely enjoy our brand of southern cuisine. While Eleanor carefully creates our breakfast menus, we happily accommodate guest’s special needs. We always inquire with our guests at checkin for any personal health or special breakfast needs. Our breakfasts typically include an initial course of a melody of fruit, fresh-cut each morning, served bite-sized in a large bowl bathed in fresh squeezed orange juice; followed by a hot-served egg dish (e.g. quiche, baked eggs, etc) with a serving of bacon, ham or sausage (or meat substitute) and potato or grits; special occasion dishes are often served such as Eleanor’s French toast, Eggs Benedict casserole or Southern nestled eggs; all accompanied by fresh baked hot biscuits, home-made scones or toast served with a jam of the day; a selection of 3 juices, milk, water, coffee or tea completes our food service. To complete their dining experience guests may enjoy conversation or touring, shopping or dining suggestions with Ron or Eleanor, other guests or our staff if they wish, but certainly personal service during breakfast is guaranteed. In our opinion, our total dining experience is an uncommon serendipity of ours and many finely operated B&Bs.

We love our international guests and thoroughly enjoy greeting and sharing time with them. This can be made more difficult for guests who visit during periods of high occupancy, who stay one night in our beautiful and historic Natchez, and who do not seem interested in sharing time with the innkeepers. We did have the feeling these guests were having a challenging traveling experience in the U.S., but perhaps we should have interpreted their aloofness as a need for help instead of a desire for privacy.

Aunt Clara’s Cottage is a lovely 1873 Victorian home with 4 guest rooms of over 300 sq ft each, 12-ft ceilings and private baths. Historic homes do exhibit characteristics and some space compromises that modern homes most often do not. We believe this is a big reason why so many visitors want to travel to historic Natchez to experience these differences. We are sorry our UK guests found their bath uncomfortably small. We do offer guests a choice of rooms in our Main Devereaux Shields House that enjoy even more spacious accommodations.

We do encourage our guests to share their experience with their fellow travelers with all the confidence and pride of experienced innkeepers of a fine owner-operated B&B. We are active participants and supporters of our Natchez hospitality community, members of the Professional Association of International Innkeepers, our Natchez Chamber of Commerce and Ron is VP of our State B&B Association. We happily share our knowledge with our guests and fellow B&B innkeepers for their benefit. We love what we do. We are hard-pressed to know who these guests were reviewing. Readers are encouraged to read our other reviews, which represent over 8000 guests in nearly 6 years of service to our Natchez visitors.

Ron & Eleanor Fry
Innkeepers/Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Deveraux Shields House is a jewel in Natchez, Mississippi. Elenor and Ron are GREAT hosts, the room was comfy and homey. Devereaux Shields house is elegant and located withing easy walking distance of many of Natchez's famous historic homes.

From the moment we checked in, Elenor and Ron started making us feel at home with their friendly, helpful, Southern Hospitality. The room was quiet, spotless, well appointed and roomy. Everything you could could possibly want was provided. The front porch was a wondelful, relaxing space surrounded by stately historic homes and great for passing time and imagining yourself in a different era. Breakfast was truly delicious, a great southern style breakfast with biscuits just like Mamma made!

This was an an experience we will definitely repeat, most likely during Fall pilgrimage. There's just to much to do in Natchez for one day. And when we return, Devereaux Shields is the only place we'll stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I highly recommend this B&B. Eleanor and her husband are wonderful and eager to make your stay in Natchez a joy. They are always available for suggestion on how best to experience the Spring Pilgrimage or to where to eat. The house is lovely, warm and inviting. Beautiful, comfortable period rooms restored to modern standards. My sisters and I had a terrific time.

Room Tip: The Rose Suite was perfect for 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJsd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
1.1 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 18 in Natchez
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#5 of 18 in Natchez
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guest House
Guest House
#9 of 18 in Natchez
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#2 of 41 in Natchez
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#6 of 41 in Natchez
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £90 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing