We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #5 of 42 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The house was wonderful and very romantic. Our room, The Rose Suite, is the room for honeymooners. Very spacious, clean and with all the amenities. The chocolates, flowers and champagne was a very nice touch. The house is located within reasonable distance to downtown shopping and restaurants. Ron & Eleanor were more than gracious and felt like old friends. Eleanor's breakfast is to die for. I wish her all the luck with her prize winning French Toast in the upcoming magazine to which it will be featured in. They made us feel very welcome and at home. We will be back without a doubt. Thanks, Ron and Eleanor for EVERYTHING...hope to see you soon. Get that Rose Suite Ready!!!!!!! :)

Thanks,
Tommy and Tyra Favaron
Addis, La.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyraFavaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

The owners were kind, and the stay there was a great introduction to the city. Ron, especially, was very helpful in recommending local restaurants and attractions. The restaurants we visited provided amazing flavors for a really good value and "ruined" us for visits in our restaurants back home. (We can't eat creme brulee at our local date spot anymore after having dessert at The Castle...) :o)

However, this wasn't our first bed and breakfast experience. We were (possibly) spoiled by our previous experience, where the inn keepers were VERY conscientious about attending to guests' special dietary concerns. We had high hopes after reading the list of hints for improving your B&B experience (on the website), but our heads-up about dietary concerns in the registration process seemed to have gone unnoticed. When we mentioned it after the first breakfast, the response was akin to, "Oh! You think what you had for breakfast TODAY was bad for you? Wait til you see what we're having for breakfast tomorrow! It'll be even worse for you!" (I sincerely hope this was just a misunderstanding, but it will definitely have to go into the memory file for the next visit...)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Deveraux Shields is a fantastic Bed and Breakfast in the wonderful Natchez.. Both Ron and Eleanor were very hospitable and sorted out a lovely restaurant for us on our night out. We also got good advice on the best historic anti bellum houses to visit - which were fabulous and very evocative of the era. We had a lovely Southern breafast on both days and met some very friendly and interesting guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in Auntt Clara's Cottage. I was so happy they accepted dogs as I was traveling with our little minature dachshund. Friends were running the B&B as the owners were on vacation. They were lovely hosts and the cottage couldn't have been more comfortable. I felt like I was at my grandmothers home. Breakfast was nice and the lady who served us was very sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Though we did not stay in the "big house," Aunt Clara's Cottage, which is associated with the Devereaux-Shields House, provided excellent accommodations for us and our dog. We stayed there on two separate occasions in May and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are comfortable and the food is excellent. The hosts are attentive but not overwhelming. This is an excellent choice in Natchez for those with pets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max19481951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The B & B was lovely , but the hosts were not available after check in. We looked for ice before and after dinner and had some questions each day we were there. They were nowhere to be found. The house just seemed rather lifeless and not what we are used to for B&B's. If they are not interested, they should hire a hostess to be at the house to attend to their guests. In general, the Southern hospitality is missing in this city that celebrates its Southern roots. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasr0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Compliment! – Thanks on our being lovely…it comes natural to Eleanor, Ron has to work harder at it 
Availability? – We were at Breakfast, assisting other guests, doing repairs or running errands and available by cell phone if you couldn’t find us…where were you?
Ice? – Now there’s a good point…we do offer in-room ice at checkin to every guest, but based upon your comment we will offer it in the guest lounge 24/7. Thanks!
Lifeless B&B in March? – Our March 2011 occupancy matched best ever, where were you?
Question Natchez Southern Hospitality? – Well now, them’s fighting words kiddos. It’s like love…all in the eye of the beholder and you get what you give. Please call if you ever choose to take us up on our offer to invite you back to Natchez as a “True Southern Destination” in Mississippi. From the sounds of it we think you truly missed something special in your last visit and we welcome the opportunity.

Ron & Eleanor Fry
Owners Devereaux Shields House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My sister and I stayed here over the Fourth of July weekend and had a wonderful time. The Alice Room in Aunt Clara's Cottage was lovely, restful, and comfortable. Eleanor and Ron are kind and gracious hosts, and they got us checked in and out very efficiently. They are very knowledgeable about the restaurants and attractions in Natchez and gave us good advice about how to spend our time.

Breakfast was excellent - served promptly and plenty of it! It was a pleasure meeting the other guests over breakfast. The B&B is convenient to the sights of historic downtown (some within walking distance). Loved the Fourth of July fireworks up on the bluff!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukelagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#3 of 17 in Natchez
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 42 in Natchez
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 42 in Natchez
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £103 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing