We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home for the holidays 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #5 of 42 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Thanks to Ron and Eleanor, the owners of this beautiful Bed and Breakfast, for a wonderful stay in their home for the holidays. Eleanor is a marvelous cook - breakfast was special each morning. The couple make a great host and hostess and work very hard at making all guests feel welcome and special. Our room was so comfortable. The house was beautiful. Front porch was cozy and a great place to visit with other guests. Natchez is a beautiful, historic small town in Mississippi if you have never been. We will definitely return and know that our stay will again be all we could have asked for in a home away from home. (by the way.... we said "goodbye" to hotels a long time ago... B & B is the way to go)
Jack, Dianne and Little D

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Finding a pet-friendly B&B in Natchez was difficult, but I lucked out with Aunt Clara's Cottage at the Devereaux Shields House. The Cottage is lovely; the room (I stayed in the "Alice" room) was extremely comfortable (the sheets were the softest I've ever seen); the hosts were friendly (without being intrusive); and the food was delicious. The most amazing thing was that, despite the fact that the Cottage was fully booked while I was there, I never heard anyone else... very peaceful. The location IS a bit on the edge of the old downtown area; however, I was still able to comfortably walk to all of the downtown attractions. Plus, being able to sit on the large porch with a glass of wine and my dog made the trip an A+ in my book. (If you are not a pet-person, please don't be scared off by the fact that the B&B is pet-friendly. It's incredibly clean... no pet odors, stains, fleas, etc. Unless you happened to see another guest with a pet, you would never even know that pets were allowed.) It was such a pleasant stay, I can't imagine that I would even consider staying anywhere else on my next trip to Natchez.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a wonderfull B&B. All of the rooms well done. Breakfast was great. Breakfast is at 8:30 in a room with all the other guests and we enjoyed all the interesting conversations, especially the ones about the palns for the day. A great way to start the day.

Absolutely would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I spent one night here and loved it. It's a beautiful home in the heart of Natchez. Our room was outstanding, complete with a large porch outside our second floor room. The owners were delightful and helpful, and yet very respectful of our privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast the next morning and met some fellow travelers who shared some great suggestions. Overall, we would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the main house and were completely satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our second time staying with Ron & Eleanor in Natchez. They made us feel like part of the family - everything was perfect, again. Ron recommended Pilgrimage to us during our first trip and we weren't disappointed - it was a truly great experience. If you want to relax, experience some great 18th/19th century history and be pampered, then we highly recommend Natchez and the Devereaux Shields House.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was the only B&B we stayed in on our US road trip and it made a nice change from impersonal hotels. We stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage and our room was just fine, with a handy walk in closet. Ron and Eleanor are excellent hosts, providing a great breakfast over which we enjoyed chatting to other guests, comparing Southern and Aussie accents! The property is in a quiet street full of lovely homes, with plenty of eating options within 10 minutes walk. Be aware that the Natchez Visitor Centre is a longer walk and might be better to drive to, although downtown Natchez is as easy to drive around as it gets. This is an excellent base for visiting Natchez's many antebellum homes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We were driving 1300 miles around the mid-South and got to stay in LOTS of different accomodations, and this was my absolutely favourite!

Based entirely on Tripadvisor reviews we deliberty chose to stay in Aunt Clara's Cottage - I had been waiting all trip to sit on a porch so this was it!

The welcome we received from Eleanor and Ron could not have been warmer. Eleanor took us up the road from the Devereux House to Aunt Clara's and showed us into the Elmo room, which was HUGE and beautifully appointed. Everything about the place was charming, homely, and lovely. I felt SO comfortable here. After so much driving this place was an oasis of calm.

It's not really walking distance to the various things worth seeing, but it's no biggie to drive everywhere and to find places to park.

Breakfast next day was delicious and both our hosts spent plenty of time on our arrival and in the morning of our departure answering all our questions about the history and background of the area. Oh, and there was free wifi in the house.

And I finally got to sit in a rocking chair on a porch as the sun went down. I loved every minute of it and only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YBB811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#3 of 17 in Natchez
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 42 in Natchez
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 42 in Natchez
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £103 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing