We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very romantic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very romantic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have stayed in the Natchez area on a number of occasions. I would highly recommend the d. Shields house. The breakfast was very good the service was better than fantastic an the room was very nice. My only complaint was the coffee. Must use Community Coffee. Also u must hit the Castle for dinner if you go to Natchez.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwf7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
194
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed with Eleanor and Ron on the night of June 29, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Natchez is a great experience to begin with and the gracious hosts of Deveraux Shields house make the time spent there even more enjoyable. We stayed in the Victoria Room of Aunt Clara's cottage and it was clean, well furnished and Eleanor made us feel as if we were right at home. Coffee was ready as promised in the morning and the breakfast was pleasingly presented. After showing us our room, Eleanor asked what we we preferred for breakfast. We try to eat light and kind of healthy and she gave us exactly what we asked for. I have no doubt that we passed up some of her specialties but we'll catch them on the next visit. Ron is an interesting guy and we shared several interests. It would have been fun to hang out with both of them longer but they have a business to run and we had sights to see. Don't miss this place - Check out their web site (www.dshieldsusa.com) for more information.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I spent one night in the cottage, which is ideally located for exploring the Natchez historic district and river bluff area on foot. Ron and Eleanor were very gracious hosts and we enjoyed visiting with them during our stay. Both the room and the breakfast were great, and we particularly enjoyed relaxing on the cottage's front porch. We plan a return trip to DS and Natchez, hopefully with friends.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gtl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the DS House the last weekend of the Spring Pilgrimage Tour. The owners are very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious! We were very comfortable in our quiet room, and it had a wonderful porch to lounge, read and enjoy coffee. Overall, we had a lovely stay and trip!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malpakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I just spent two nights at the Devereaux Shields House Bed and breakfast. It was great. The rooms were beautifully decorated in true antique fashion. The owners, Ron and Eleanor couldn"t have been nicer or more accomodating. Their goal is to make you feel at home and they do it with grace and ease. The cooked breakfast was delicious. The B and B is close to all the main attractions in downtown Natchez. I would definately stay with Ron and Eleanor again and highly recomend the Devereaux Shields House

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a lovely visit at a beautiful home with a delicious breakfast and very gracious hosts. We highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sha985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were down in early April and stayed here for two nights. The location is great and Eleanor and Ron were wonderful hosts- not overbearing and very helpful. I especially appreciated their offer of a glass of wine after a long drive from Birmingham! Our room was in the Cottage and it was large and very comfortable. We enjoyed the very large and tasty breakfasts and the other guests who we met over breakfast. Our stay coincided with the week when various historic homes were open and went one one of the half-day tours. Natchez is definitely worth visiting and I hope we return to the Cottage or the main house at Devereaux Shields.

Room Tip: The Cottage was very quiet. We had a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing