We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Devereaux Shields House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #5 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have been married for 32 years and never have stayed in a B&B. If this is any indication of what they are like, this will be the first of many B&B stays. My wife and I were in Natchez for the Ballon Festival and stayed with another couple in the Rose Suite. Ron and Eleanor (the owners) were the perfect hosts. Everything in the way of comforts has been well thought out. From the cleanliness to the roominess and charm exceeded my expectations. Don't miss the breakfast either.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary in the Louise Room at Aunt Clara's Cottage. It was very charming and cozy. The breakfasts were fantastic! The bathrooms were period specific like we had hoped and a little small. Linens were very nice in bathroom and bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We can absolutely recommend Devereaux Shields House as a perfect place to stay in Natchez. Ron and Eleanor had thought of every comfort. We stayed in Rose Suite, which had an enormous bed and adjoining bedroom which had plenty of room for a roll away. Breakfast was delicious and Ron gave great recommendations and booked dinner for us (Magnolia Grill); he even kindly drove us down to the restaurant. On another of our hosts suggestion we visited Longwood Antebellum House the following morning and we are delighted we did. We wish we could have stayed longer.... hopefully next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Visited Natchez for the first time during The Natchez Food & Wine festival. Eleanor and Ron Frey were so welcoming and friendly. The Cottage was quaint and so comfortable and "Alice" can accommodate 4 guests nicely. Wonderful breakfast every morning. Thank ya'll for a lovely visit. We had a great girls weekend.

Room Tip: King beds are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have stayed in the Natchez area on a number of occasions. I would highly recommend the d. Shields house. The breakfast was very good the service was better than fantastic an the room was very nice. My only complaint was the coffee. Must use Community Coffee. Also u must hit the Castle for dinner if you go to Natchez.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwf7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed with Eleanor and Ron on the night of June 29, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Natchez is a great experience to begin with and the gracious hosts of Deveraux Shields house make the time spent there even more enjoyable. We stayed in the Victoria Room of Aunt Clara's cottage and it was clean, well furnished and Eleanor made us feel as if we were right at home. Coffee was ready as promised in the morning and the breakfast was pleasingly presented. After showing us our room, Eleanor asked what we we preferred for breakfast. We try to eat light and kind of healthy and she gave us exactly what we asked for. I have no doubt that we passed up some of her specialties but we'll catch them on the next visit. Ron is an interesting guy and we shared several interests. It would have been fun to hang out with both of them longer but they have a business to run and we had sights to see. Don't miss this place - Check out their web site (www.dshieldsusa.com) for more information.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I spent one night in the cottage, which is ideally located for exploring the Natchez historic district and river bluff area on foot. Ron and Eleanor were very gracious hosts and we enjoyed visiting with them during our stay. Both the room and the breakfast were great, and we particularly enjoyed relaxing on the cottage's front porch. We plan a return trip to DS and Natchez, hopefully with friends.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gtl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
1.1 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#2 of 41 in Natchez
506 reviews
9 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#7 of 41 in Natchez
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £92 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing