We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“Loved our Stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our family of 4 was so happy to find accomodations in Natchez at a Bed and Breakfast that allowed us to stay together in one room. Our girls aged 13 and 9 loved the antiques and the 4-poster canopy bed in Aunt Clara's Cottage which is just down the street from the main house. Our hosts were so nice and helpful and the breakfast was just delicious. There were other people in the cottage but it was quiet unless you wished to go out and visit in the common room. We hope to go back again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alice Room. It has one queen bed and one double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
201
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We found Devereaux Shields on the internet and wasn't sure what to expect. Although the pictures were beautiful they didn't do justice to the charm and beauty of Devereaux Shields. As we drove up to the house, there were candles glowing in all the windows to welcome us. The grounds were emaculate with beautiful landscaping and the peaceful sounds of waterfalls and fountains. As we entered the house the charm and beauty of the south surrounded you everywhere....The level of excellence was evident in every room as even the smallest details were tended to from the cleanliness of the rooms to the aroma of fresh brewed morning coffee on the table outside our room awaiting us each morning. We stayed in the Rose suite and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable and the southern decor was charming. Ron and Eleanor were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was excellent and beyond what we expected. Eleanor's recipes were fabulous. We enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 807Tami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Devereaux Shields B&B has 2 properties on the same block and we stayed at the cottage. We checked into the main house and the owner, Ron (a retired rocket scientist), was informative and helpful and took us for a tour of the upstairs of the main house - it was chuck full of wonderful furniture you would expect in a southern gentry home.
The breakfast was served in the cottage and was a three course tasty (dare I say gourmet) breakfast. After breakfast, we went to Longwood, the tour was well worth the time spent -very interesting.
Ron and Elenor both reccomended the Cotton Alley Cafe. We would definately give it 4 stars - It was wonderful. Of the three places we tried, Cotton Alley was the best.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main house are upstairs, the cottage rooms are all on 1 level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our room was spacious and well appointed. We had a nice breakfast the next morning and met lively charming people who gave us some good travel tips about sites to see. They particularly recommended visiting Longwood and we agree.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AudenHoggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Natchez is a typical charming Southern town and the Devereaux Shields house is a perfect compliment to the city. It oozes with "Southern Hospitality". Ron and Eleanor are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in the "Elmo" room in Clara's cottage and it was perfect. The room is beautifully appointed with an intricately carved King size headboard and footboard. The bedspread and window covering were also beautiful. The linens were so soft and felt delightful when you slipped between the sheets in the evening. We loved sitting on the front porch and visiting with our "new friends" who were also staying there. Elmo's room is on the same side of the hallway as the kitchen and dining area, so there were no other rooms next to ours. I was afraid we would keep others up while watching tv, but I never heard any noise from any other guests, so hopefully they didn't hear any from us. The breakfasts were wonderful. They start off with a bowl of fresh fruit which is full of 5 or 6 different fruits, and biscuits. The first day we had quiche and the second day we had eggs benedict casserole. Both were excellent. While we were eating, our room was being tended to, as I noticed that a Make-up towel that I used was removed. Everything about the room was first class and clean. Ron was so helpful with dinner recommendations. He called in a reservation for us at Magnolia Grille and when we got there our table was by the window so we could watch the sun set over the Mississippi. The best part of staying here was the comraderie of guests. What fun it is to meet other people from around the World and find what is different or the same with each of us. This was our first visit at a B & B, but it won't be our last.

If you're a model train fan, ask Ron to see his Train Room. Impressive!

Room Tip: Loved the Elmo. Big bedroom and roomy bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a truly great place to stay at. We found it here on Tripadvisor. We are brothers and sisters from Sweden making a three-day road trip up north from New Orleans. Although we arrived later than planned on the Wednesday evening the welcome was extraordinary. Our room and bathroom were perfectly clean and very nicely decorated. Great ambiance. As we got to our room we were served a glass of wine and some snacks. The following day we had a typical breakfast (grits, bacon and egg) together with the other guests. Before checking out we had a nice long chat with Ron who runs the place with his wife Eleanor, and before we left off he gave us advice on what to see and how to drive. Truly appreciated the stay and would definitely come back if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias_B-R2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in the The Elmo Room, located in Clara’s Cottage. The cottage is very comfortable with a pleasant front porch to spend some relaxing time. It has a convenient side driveway for three cars to park. The home is circa 1873 Victorian. The cottage was previously owned and furnished by an interior decorator. There are lovely touches everywhere. There are several antique persian rugs which are very interesting. The bed in the Elmo room was very spacious and very comfortable. The sheets were a special purchase and they were exceptionally soft and comfortable. The parlor in the house serves as the breakfast area, so there is not really a separate living room. There is a refrigerator with assorted beverages for the guests. The cottage and the Deveraux-Shields house is located in a lovely neighborhood that resulted in several nice walks.

Breakfast was served @ 8:30 and had a nice fruit cup, great biscuits, a ham and egg casserole and great conversation. Eleanor was a gracious host and we enjoyed her company. The main house is very lovely and available for the cottage guests to visit as well. It is very ornately decorated and furnished. Both houses had external candles that gave it a warm ambiance in the evenings.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

Room Tip: The Elmo room was recommended by Eleanor and we thought it was an excellent choice. it is also a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing