We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Mr. and Mrs. Fry were very nice and the breakfast was simply delicious!! Spotless and beaufiful!! All the rooms are unique and breathtaking. Sitting on the porch in a rain storm brought back so many memories of my childhood. They even allowed our precious pet to stay with us! She was welcomed with a treet which she graciously enjoyed. Just what you would want from a Bed and Breadfast. Hope to stay there again soon.

Linda and Sid
Texas

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
194
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our group of four booked a suite of connected rooms and were thrilled with our accommodations - the Rose suite. The service, food, and location all suited our needs perfectly. Eleanor & Ron were great hosts and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnBoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The rooms were very warm and inviting. The bed was very comfortable. I have never stayed in a B&B. We had the Victoria room in Aunt Claires cottage. I didnt want to leave it was so very peaceful there. Ron and Eleanor have done a wonderful job of with all of the accomodations it is like stepping back in time. We would love to come back again and plan on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is an amazing bed and breakfast! My niece said that I started out wrong, because this isn't the norm! It is the Cadillac of B&B's!! Eleanor and Ron are wonderful hosts. The food was excellent, as was the staff. We stayed the in Elmo room in Aunt Clara's Cottage. I hope to stay again soon!

Room Tip: Look online to see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in the Gallery Suite. ., it was very comfortable We had our own upstairs balcony where we had coffee each morning and each afternoon. It was such a calm setting. Ron and Eleanor were the most gracious host and hostess. We had everything we could possibly have needed. They helped us plan our visit, places to go and things to see. There was only one thing wrong with our stay.... It wasn't long enough. We will be going back and we will be staying at the Devereaux Shields House

Room Tip: The Gallery Suite is private and even has an extra room and its own bath. My favorite part was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and decided to come back for our five year anniversary. I am so in love with this b&b. We feel at home. Mrs Eleanor and Mr Ron are the friendliest kindhearted host we have ever met. We always enjoy talking to them and staying at their home. The breakfast is always delicious. The Devereaux Sheilds House is a MUST stay. We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchezc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in the Rose Suite in the main house and could not have had a more relaxing and wonderful experience. Ron and Eleanor were excellent hosts, who immediately made us feel right at home and offered a lot of help and advice to make our stay in Natchez memorable. We will definitely be back to Natchez in the near future and wouldn't think of staying with anyone else. Mike and Lisa (6/7/2013 thru 6/9/2013)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 41 in Natchez
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing