We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real southern charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #5 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This B&B is well located and a good choice in Natchez. We stayed at Louise room and it was very confortable and cozy for three people. Ron, the owner, takes care personally of the guests, making shure all their needs are attended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dagoberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

My long-time girlfriends and I stayed for three nights in this beautiful bed and breakfast in a 2-bedroom suite. The accommodations and especially the hosts, couldn't have been any better. Delicious breakfast each morning we were there and just the atmosphere was fantastic. Highly recommend a stay at this beautiful home.

Room Tip: The room on the street side had a wonderful balcony....great place to share early morning coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I took a short trip to Natchez to celebrate our 6-month anniversary and job promotions! I spent a good week reading a bunch of reviews on TA for the B&B we were going to choose.

Our experience here was great! Mrs. Eleanor was very friendly and a great host. My wife and I are constantly around people with our jobs and entertaining and being entertained at people's houses, so we came with the mindset of it being just us and relaxing.

With that said we didn't interact with the owners much, but the few times we did they were great. They gave us a voucher to eat breakfast at The Castle, which was AMAZING and an experience we will never forget.

The space, area, and bed were all great as well. People have already asked how our trip was and since we're only 1 hour 20 minutes away, I've already commended this B&B to everyone.

We stayed in the Elmo room at Aunt Clara's cottage. Very private and nice!

Thanks Eleanor!

Side note for Natchez travelers: For some reason places close pretty early! FYI.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMarcantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I cannot say enough about the wonderful night we spent in a two bedroom suite at this location. The hosts, the home and the breakfast were wonderful. Eleanor served a cheese plate for us in the late afternoon and we enjoyed a great conversation with a few other guests. Our party will again stay here in the Spring, but NEVER in the winter. We stayed in the Rose Suite which was beautiful appointed but was was extremely COLD especially that night. We actually slept in the terrific robes we found in the closets and were still cold. Another discomfort was that breakfast was served in another lactation about a block down the street. The food was wonderful, but it was a cold and rainy walk. The hosts have a coffee bar, water and soft drinks available. IF one would enjoy a glass of wine, bring your own as it isn't offered.

Room Tip: AVOID the Rosé Suite in winter as it is TOO cold to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are glad these sweet elderly mothers and their daughters largely enjoyed their stay and will be returning to our B&B and Natchez. We enjoyed serving them and are certainly glad they enjoyed cheese & crackers lounging and warming fireside in both our 1st floor parlors. We are accordingly mystified by their choice to suffer in silence rather than bring the cold issue in their room to our attention. Guests do have access to the thermostat for the Rose Suite. We always offer a wine reception to guests at check-in. It is possible the frail nature of the mothers distracted us from our normal checkin process. The guest’s experiences with cold and wine were unfortunate anomalies. We are sorry they experienced any discomfort and look forward to welcoming them back in the spring.

Ron & Eleanor, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I recently spent six nights in Natchez We spent one night in Aunt Clara's cottage before moving to the Devereaux Shields house for the remainder of our stay. Though full, the cottage was extremely quiet. The front porch afforded us the opportunity to rock and visit with a wonderful couple from Denmark.
The Devereaux Shields house is beautiful. If you have an appreciation of older houses, this is a dream house. We spent our time in the Gallery Suite. Every night we spent hours rocking on the private second story gallery enjoying the weather, sounds of the south, and the neighborhood ambience. The grounds are immaculately manicured and serene with plenty of comfortable seating amidst the calming sounds of numerous water features.
Eleanor and Ron were great hosts. We left feeling like we had left friends in Natchez. The time we spent visiting with them in their home and the train room added that much more to the value of our trip.
As I write this review, I sigh at the memory of our pleasant time in this city.

Room Tip: Wow, all the rooms we saw were charming in their own right. You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our thanks to Ron and Eleanor Fry for a most enjoyable stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage. The accommodtions and the hospitality were great. We had hot coffee, tea and snacks right outside our room and a wonderful breakfast prepared and served by their gracious staff. If you are interested in a unique get-a-way to Natchez, Ms. this is a great place to stay.
Fred & Ann Farmer

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afarmer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were travelling the area from the UK. Ron and Eleanor were great hosts and very helpful with recommendations and reservations at local restaurants. The accommodation was to a high standard and very clean. Candles in all the windows are a lovely sight in the evenings. Greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 17 in Natchez
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
502 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 41 in Natchez
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £101 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing