We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aunt Clara's Cottage Was Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were fortunate to spend 3 nights in Natchez at the Devereaux Shields House / Aunt Clara's Cottage the middle of April 2014. Everything was beyond expectations. There were 8 of us and we occupied the 4 bedrooms at Aunt Clara's Cottage. Rooms were clean and large. Beds were great. Bathrooms clean. Breakfast each morning was outstanding. Our hosts were very friendly and wanted to make sure everything was good. Highly Recommend. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Louise Suite, but I think all the rooms were good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Devereaux Shields House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Eleanor and Ron are terrific hosts and we loved staying at Aunt Clara's Guest Cottage. It is in the middle of beautiful Natchez, convenient to all the attractions. The southern breakfasts in the charming dining room were delicious! Thank you for making our visit delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had such an amazing experience in Natchez. When we arrived at the Devereaux Shields house, Ron the owner had us follow him down the street to "Aunt Clara's Cottage" just three doors down and across the street. We had the Victoria Suite, and it has to be the best room in the house for couples. A huge King-sized bed sits in the middle of a spacious room, with an additional sitting room which we ended up using for all our luggage. (But it was nice to have the option of going into the other room if one of us wanted to read while the other one slept.) The antique furniture was beautiful, and every room was decorated in a unique way. The breakfast room had water and soda's available at all times, and Ron offered us wine to enjoy when we arrived. Ron suggested a few places for dinner and we made reservations.
The breakfasts each morning were amazing. Starting with homemade biscuits and a fruit bowl, followed by a plate full of something delicious, one morning a frittata, cheesy hash browns and a ham slice, the next day grits and an egg strata. What a great way to start the morning. On our last day Ron and Eleanor showed us the inside of the main house, and it was beautifully decorated and put together as well. They think of everything to make your stay more comfortable! The price was very reasonable compared to other B & B's, and if we return in the future we will certainly come back to this wonderful B & B!

Room Tip: We heard no noise what-so-ever in our Victoria Room in the back of Aunt Clara's Cottage.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwithaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were stopping in Natchez on our way home from Florida and did not have a place to stay. I got on line and found this B&B. I called and spoke with Eleanor who said she had the Victoria Suite in the Cottage available for that night. We were visiting during the Spring Pilgrimage so Natchez was very busy at that time. We couldn't have been more pleased! Our suite was gorgeous: large main room beautifully decorated with a large sitting room as well as a lovely master bath. The linens were top notch and the furniture was very comfy. We also appreciated the great lighting for reading. Ron was extremely helpful in helping us plan our activities. He even made our dinner reservation! We went to the Visitor Center and when we returned, there was wine waiting for us in our room - what a nice touch! Breakfast was absolutely delicious - you won't go away hungry. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: From what we saw, they all looked lovely!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JILL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Ambiance, charm, great service, and out of this world breakfasts. Highly recommend. Also a great location for touring the antebellum homes. We did the spring pilgrimage tour and enjoyed each home. This was a great "girlfriend" getaway.

Room Tip: They offer "suite" arrangements - I travelled with 3 cousins and we had two rooms with a s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shonour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I searched the web and based on Trip Advisor chose this. What a good decision. Eleanor and Ron are lovely hosts, warm and helpful. We stayed in the Elmo room which was large and comfortable with a king bed, daybed, chaise lounge and wing chair. The bathroom is roomy and well appointed with big fluffy towels and all the amenities. We rally enjoyed this B&B and would recommend it highly

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I checked alot of b&b in the Natchez area and this was the one that looked like it would fit our needs and wants...And it was even nicer than the pictures and what people had wrote about it....It was like being at home and much better... A A A + + + ..

Room Tip: We stayed in the rose room. The view was just ok, but two rooms, two beds, two tv's and no noise...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#5 of 17 in Natchez
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
491 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#5 of 41 in Natchez
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £105 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing