We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thouroughly enjoyed this tour”
Review of Stanton Hall

Stanton Hall
Ranked #7 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: N 1858, Frederick Stanton built the home of his dreams for his family on his new property - an entire city block of Natchez, Mississippi. The city block cost about $1,550. The house cost over $83,000 before it was even furnished. Carrera Marble, mahogany doors 2 1/2 inches thick, candeliers from France, and Italian statuary appointed the interior. Huge Corinthian columns and granite steps adorned the facade. Stanton came to America with his brothers in 1815. He made a fortune as a cotton broker, then as owner of more than 16,000 acres of cotton plantations. Ironically, he lived only one month after his dream home was finished. ...Now inside view of the Carriage House Restaurant Stanton Hall housed a college for young ladies for a short time, then fell into dissarray to some extent before the Pilgrimage Garden Club renewed the antebellum mansion to much of its former glory. It stands today, filled with original and like antique furnishings as Frederick originally created it, a showcase for the world to see. Daily tours are given of the home, and during Spring and Fall Pilgrimages hostesses dress in antebellum costume to greet the throngs of visitors. After the tour, many stop to have lunch at the adjacent Carriage House Restaurant, which is nationally famous for its fine Southern cuisine. Stanton Hall is listed as an official National Historic Landmark.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Thouroughly enjoyed this tour”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is where they filmed the enterior of Mont Royal in the Mini Series North and South. Our guide did a great job pointing everything out. When we got up stairs she told us which bedroom every actor used. It did get everyone's attention and worth the visit for a second time around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    172
    44
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a grand house”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We came here after visiting Longwood so a nice contrast. The house has a long history of many uses and the grounds have been added to as far as a pool and restaurant so you take the new with the old.

There is not much original furnishing left but all the structure and lighting was original. I have to say the chandeliers were the best part, each room having there own design, large and grand. It was interesting to see the glaring differences in finishing between the public and private parts of the house.

The tour guide we had was very pleasant and well versed in the history of the house. They do need a sign to direct you to parking as we circled the block a couple of times to figure out where to park and ended up parking on the street around back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaPappaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grand Home”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Toured this house while recently in Natchez and it was just beautiful. Only draw backs were that the on site restaurant we wanted to eat in was closed and the gift shop seemed to have very little that was unique to this particular house. Also was a bit strange to have a swimming pool with kids splashing around in the back yard. I guess part of the grounds a re a private club. That said this is a not to miss while in Natchez.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomanticNHopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour guide seemed to hate her job”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Stanton Hall on a Saturday afternoon and were the only visitors. Our tour guide rushed through the house and seemed to be rather happy when she could show us to the door again after roughly 20 minutes. The house is nice but the tour is not worth the 12$ per person entrance fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bird380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The grandest home of our visit”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This home is immense! It is amazing the homes the plantation owners built prior to the civil war. This home is spectacular and very knowledgeable tour guides. Put this one on the list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbfues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanton Hall also viewed

 

Been to Stanton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing