We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At The Heart of Natchez History”
Review of Hope Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hope Farm
Ranked #21 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hope Farm Inn, once the home and headquarters of the Spanish governor, is the oldest house in Natchez. Nestled in a beautiful, hidden wooded area in the heart of the historic homes district, Hope Farm is the B & B of choice for history buffs. Ms. Ethel Banta the owner and hostess brings the history of the property to life as she shares the home and artifacts during her guided tour. She is a gracious hostess in the best of Southern tradition from the moment guests arrive. Liza's breakfast--especially the biscuits and fresh fruit, is presented in the elegant dining room where Miss Ethel joins guests to share Natchez history and assists guests plan their stay in city.
Hope Farm is on the famous spring tour of homes. While in need of upgrades to the bath and general face-lifting repair, it is an elegant piece of 18th Century history that should be included in your visit to Natchez.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the side of the house, thus away from traffic and quiet. Don't miss relaxing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stingaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Hope Farm and its owner, Mrs. Ethel Banta, a master story teller and great southern lady, provide a gracious setting to enjoy a relaxing time of porch setting. The home and accommodations are filled with history beyond imagination. We stayed in the smallest room with a very tiny bath, but other rooms were much more accommodating, and all were filled with beautiful furnishings from the 1800s. The southern Breakfast was graciously served and delicious. Except for a minor shower drain problem in
the tiny bathroom, the experience was wonderful, especially to think that I slept in a home built in 1775.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Delightful owner who is extremely knowledgable in Natchez history. Interesting and exremely humorous, Ms Banter takes you on a tour of her home after breakfast which is the one day she will come a knocking on your door and you will have breakfast at 8:30! We loved her and her hospitality. Hot coffee on the screened porch ready at 6 am, rooms clean and very comfortable! The history and elegance of her home is wonderful. Many antiques and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3boysnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I visited Hope Farm as a stop-over for some research for a book I'm writing, and I think I found a whole new novel. Hope Farm is the oldest house in Natchez, with the original structure being the home of the Spanish governor. Our room was an absolute delight: old things that were really old, not set up to look that way. Still, everything worked, and we slept like the dead.

The breakfast is a must-not-miss, not only because it is excellent, but because Miss Ethel, the owner, tells stories throughout the meal. And afterward, she takes everyone on a guided tour of the place, including visits to your rooms, so put those embarrassing unmentionables away before you head out for your coffee.

I've stayed in many Southern bed and breakfasts, and Hope Farm is the epitome of Southern charm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Ms Ethel was a delight our room was beautiful full of history the breakfast nice but not enough we were not offered seconds and everyone doesn't eat pork (bacon) and eggs wasn't an option i think a buffet breakfast would have been great overall is great i would recommend it and will definitely go again ...the tour was amazing and interesting ..again i love Ms Ethel it wouldn't be hope farm without .....

Room Tip: I Recommend the Plantation room if you have 4 people attending
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alma_c751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a memorable stay!! The room was perfect for my husband and myself, the breakfast was super , and you cannot say enough about Ms Ethel. We will go back again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Hope Farm is a historic home with a wonderful hostess who brings it all to life. Our room was large and airy, breakfast was excellent, and the house tour was the icing on the cake. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Still_travelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
9.7 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 18 in Natchez
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 18 in Natchez
273 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Farm

Address: 147 Homochitto St, Natchez, MS 39120-3962
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing