We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel through time - excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Travel through time - excellent stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a lastminute booking over phone and were welcomed with a private evening piano concert and wine - really a wonderful eveing of charm that lets you travel through time. The room was very nice and spacious, the entire house was amazing, we played on the ancient billard table. The house is in Joes family since tenerations and he knows the history and also is an active art collector. Breakfast is a highlight, served in antique setting and very delicious! Dont miss the concert and definitely visit this place! You can get hostory, concert, great talks, a travel through time, hospitality and great care at the astone House!

Also admire all the ancient maps! There is a large collection which is really interesting! We loved it and really recommend to stay here - absolute hightlight of Natchez!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
285
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Right in the middle of a 5 week road trip, my husband and I found ourselves at the Joseph Stone House. It was just what we needed to get reenergized and refreshed. The whole property is a restored historical marvel and the cottage we rented was charming and peaceful. Joe is a very likable, gracious host. His willingness to share his family's history in the Natchez area over many generations, along with all the fascinating antiques in the home, brought the antebellem period alive. (Wait till yousee the antique bread warmer and antque china used at the hot breakfasts.) In the evening Joe performed a piano concert in the music room of the main house. He is an accomplished pianist and it was magical evening! We loved every minute we spent at Joe's Stone House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Joe is running a lovely B&B. The house has an interesting history, the breakfast is great and the rooms are charming. Charming is also the host. Joe is a wonderfull piano player. If you are staying an the Stonehouse, you get a perfect taste of the southern hospitality. More than that, you won't forget your visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirschiblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at JN Stone House on our trip down the Blues Highway. Hard to describe what a wonderful gem this place is. From the moment we knocked on the front door and were welcomed by Joe Stone it was like being whisked away through time. Joe was so gracious and informative and his repertoire of knowledge of his collection is amazing. To get such in depth knowledge of the by gone era is something that would put professional tour guides to shame and whats more you get all this great information for free. It is just a part of who Joe is and it is obvious the passion he has for history and the era that his family, and his family's family's, lived through. We were fortunate enough to stay in the room in the main house and once again were astounded by the history that surrounded us. Joe gave us some great recommendations for dinner and after going for a leisurely evening stroll we came back to a fantastic complimentary piano recital accompanied by a lovely bottle of wine. The following morning we were treated to a delicious hot breakfast served on 18th century china. Joe was an absolute gentleman and scholar and if you get the chance make sure that you book some time at the J.N. Stone House, you wont be disappointed!! (P.S. Dont forget the billiard room!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sovereign_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited from Florida for two nights at the end of June with our three boys. I wanted my sons to have the experience of staying in a bed and breakfast and also wanted to give them an appreciation for some of the great history of the area. Natchez was perfect for that and so was The Stone House. Not many B&B's will allow children but the owner, Joseph Stone, was such a great host, he made the whole family feel comfortable and cooks the most amazing breakfasts! Our room was beautiful and so spacious. The piano concert was beyond our expectation and something the whole family enjoyed. There is so much history in this home that has been lovingly restored and Mr. Stone is happy to share that history with his guests. Altogether, a great experience!

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, MS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My mother and I wanted to get away for the weekend and chose Natchez, a city neither of us had ever visited, and we are from Mississippi. We stayed in the cottage behind the main house. The accommodations were lovely, comfortable, and most importantly--clean. The hospitality shown us truly lived up to the phrase "Southern hospitality." And the concert--WOW! Breakfast was fantastic as well. The whole experience was quite a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary in Natchez at the Joseph Stone House over the 4th of July holiday. We were treated royally with Southern Hospitality,scrumptious breakfasts served in the formal dining room and stayed in the beautiful master suite. Joe is a native son of Natchez and presents a marvelous historical background of the area and his lovely home. The crowning highlight was by far the Piano Concert given by Joe Stone on our final evening there. He is a musician of such exceptional caliber and extensive knowledge of his pieces that words seem inadequate; this is truly a one of a kind...must do... Natchez experience!

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#2 of 17 in Natchez
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#8 of 40 in Natchez
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Property: Stone House Musical B&B
Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing