We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed at many b&b's but this one is far above in a category all by itself. Joe Stone is such a gracious host and a walking historian making our stay in Natchez much more interesting and meaningful. His evening concert on his 1903 Steinway grand piano was a wonderful example of his musicianship, reflecting his many years of study and experience. His explanations of the various time period pieces nicely tied in with the historic periods of the area. The glass of wine added a nice touch to a special moment of music in a beautiful setting. Breakfast was served on lovely Lamouge china with many special silver serving pieces and the food was wonderful. It was hard to pull ourselves away from the interesting conversation to let Joe Stone get back to his busy day. The two rooms are very nicely furnished with period pieces and wonderful linens. Mr. Stone's knowledge and family connections to so many of the homes featured on the Spring Pilgrimage made our three day stay all that more interesting. The home and his family history are so rich in detail and so fascinating. Have him tell you about the collection of maps. Location was very convenient. I look forward to bringing my daughter and grandaughter back in the near future. Wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Both the room in the main house and the cottage unit in back are beautifully furnished with wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's difficult to find an historic b&b excited to host 3 kids under the age of 12! We wanted to visit Natchez and stay in an antebellum home and were so happy to find the Joseph Stone House. Joe is a walking history book about the area and made our trip so much more interesting. Do not miss his piano concert...even our 9 year old said it was the best part of her trip. He is incredibly talented....my only regret is that I did not have more time to look at his antique map and botanical collection. When we left we felt like we had just visited an old friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Stone House exceeded our expectations; Joe was the most gracious of hosts. We felt special from the moment we stepped on the property, and when we left, it was with heavy hearts! The breakfast each morning was delicious, the private concert was exceptional and the room we stayed in was absolutely dreamy. My husband and I cannot begin to express our delight with every aspect of our stay at The Stone House! We will be back, and it cannot come soon enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main bedroom in the front, with a private foyer, separated from the rest of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Joe Stone is an incredibly talented musician, the perfect host and all around great human.He instantly makes you feel welcome and comfortable. He is attentive to guests' needs and we completely agree with all positive reviews. Thanks for a wonderful trip. Pam & Jan. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great experience from start to finish! We visited during the spring Pilgrimage of Natchez. We were attracted to this B and B by the reviews of Trip Advisor, especially those who spoke of the private concert given for the guests. The mini-concert was given by our host, Joe Stone, after check-in and at a time convenient for those attending, which happened to be 5:30. The repertoire covered several musical eras and Joe gave background on each piece and then performed beautifully.all songs by memory on a Steinway grand piano, while we sipped complementary wine. Our room was very spacious and appointed with many antiques.The delicious gourmet breakfast was served on Old Paris china with silver coffee service. We received a tour before we left which gave us a perspective of several generations of the Stone family and their dedication to the trust of such an historical home. If you love good music, delicious food and rich history you won’t be disappointed at the Stone House!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 536ruthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Joe was a gracious host for our visit to the Stone House, which was our first trip to Natchez. The room was comfortable and easy to access even for my friend who walks with a cane. The neighborhood was quiet and near all that Natchez has to offer. You will love the host who fed us well and entertained us with history about his family as well as the antiques on display. Joe is a master pianist, and he thrilled us all with his talent during a short,lovely afternoon concert. We would certainly visit the Stone House again, and tell our friends about his B& B.

P. S.
Joe, while listening to our classical music radio station today, I heard music reminding me of the piece by Debussy. However, I was incorrect. It was identified as a piece by Leo Ornstein named Seventh Piano Sonata. I will continue to try to learn more. I want to be correct the next time I hear his music! Thank you so much for the education.

Room Tip: Master bedroom has a double bed and two single beds in one room. The cottage has 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Besides the high TripAdvisor ratings our choice for the Stone House was influenced by the promise of an evening program of piano music. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Joe and welcomed into our huge room. Our experience with B and Bs have ranged from small to large rooms but this was the lavishly large. Yet it was well appointed and comfortable. Before we wondered off for the evening we spent about 45 minutes listening to Joe introduce and play beautiful pieces on his Steinway! The intimate atmosphere allows questions and conversation to flow from history of composers to history of homes. We were captivated. The next day began with a beautiful breakfast and more interaction around the history of the Stone House that can be traced back generations to the other Stones. Don’t miss this place whether you love great food or great music or like us, both!

Room Tip: The room in the house is huge and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFLARSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 17 in Natchez
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#7 of 41 in Natchez
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#5 of 41 in Natchez
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#6 of 41 in Natchez
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £112 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing