We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #2 of 42 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We have stayed at several B&B's in Natchez and this is one of the best. Joe Stone, the host, was very accommodating and full on local information. The house is on a side street near town and very quiet. We stayed in the master bedroom; the room was very spacious and the bed was as comfortable as any I've slept in. Joe cooked a good breakfast which included shrimp gits, quiche, ham and biscuits. We went during the Fall Pilgrimage and were fortunate to sit in on one of his piano concerts for free since we were staying at the B&B. Joe is an excellent musician and a great host. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Stone House Musical B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

This was a highlight of our ten-day trip. Joe Stone is the perfect host, treating us with real southern hospitality. We could not have been made to feel more welcome - as guests in his home, not just as "paying customers". The room was beautiful and the private piano concert very special. We would stay again in a heartbeat if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaTraveler6314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This spring we took a 5 week road trip around the country. We included two nights in Natchez in our itinerary. Browsing the internet listings for B&B's, we were intrigued by the historical detail and music focus of The Stone House. It sounded just wonderful, and we are pleased to say it was! It is meticulously restored with attention to detail evident everywhere. The piano recital was a special treat---something everyone would enjoy. The breakfasts were delicious, the host was friendly and knowledgeable, and the house was worthy of museum status. Being former B&B owners ourselves, we really appreciated Joe's expertise. He has definitely mastered being a B&B host.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This bed and breakfast was really a treat. The house was totally fascinating with all kinds of period and family antiques . We learned alot of the history of the area from our host Joe Stone. He gave us a wonderful piano concert one evening -which is not to be missed .He is very talented musician . The food was just fantastic- shrimp grits. Our Room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Every detail was thought of, to insure a superior stay. Truely a delightful experience. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

athough I was drawn to Stone House for business reasons, I immediately became enchanted with Stone House and its proprietor, Joe Stone. His house is not a mansion like other antebellum houses that have come to resemble the colonial version of a Hampton Inn. Instead, Stone House exudes an intimacy and elegance that separates it from other B&Bs in Natchez. The real difference, however is the affability and erudition of the proprietor of Stone House, Joe Stone. He fills the evenings with history and music (there are free piano concerts that he presents on his Steinway).; the morning breakfast is the perfect jump start to the day. I enthusiastically recommend Stone House. In a world of sameness, this delightful experience stays fresh in my mind.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_leitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeNatchez, Owner at Stone House Musical B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2010

I cannot thank you enough, B & A, not only for your review, but for all that you did for me through your business involvement as well. It goes without saying that y'all were a 'perfect fit' here, considering your interest in music and rare maps and books. The differences that are offered at Stone House are here for visitors just like you, and I am extremely grateful that you found your way to my B&B. Many thanks for everything, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Very lovely, comfortable, clean and quiet property in a charming neighborhood. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here, and Joe was an excellent host.... very accomodating.

He put us on to some excellent dining in Natchez, arranging our reservations of choice on a very busy weekend. Also, quite a cook and presenter at breakfast. He knows his stuff.

And, be sure not to miss his piano recital along with a smooth glass or two of wine. This man is a real talent on the ivories, playing beautiful classical pieces. Can't say enough good things about our stay, just to add, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralaiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeNatchez, Owner at Stone House Musical B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2010

R & J, thank you for your write-up and for being such ideal guests! Your visit was all my pleasure, and I'm happy to know that you found Natchez so appealing. Here's to your future visits to our little town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We spent two enchanted nights in the Master bedroom of the meticulously restored Joseph Stone House. It is an ideal experience for classical music and history lovers, or just relaxing in peaceful, quiet, beautiful surroundings, this is the place. Host, Joe Stone couldn't have been more gracious and charming. The breakfasts, including fabulous homemade biscuits, were delicious. We highly recommend the Joseph Stone House and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvdento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeNatchez, Owner at Stone House Musical B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

Many thanks C. & V. for your kind remarks, your visit was all my pleasure. It's not too terribly far away, so I would be happy for my place to become your getaway place for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#3 of 17 in Natchez
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 42 in Natchez
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 42 in Natchez
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £108 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing