We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming House, Charming Host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming House, Charming Host”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Our recent stay at The Stone House was delightful! Our host, Joe Stone, knows everybody and everything there is in Natchez. The house, which is listed on the National Historic register, is charming and full of museum quality pieces. Our bedroom was large and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was sumptuous and was served on beautiful antique pink china (with juice in a silver goblet!). Best of all was the piano recital where Joe not only played beautifully but took the time to explain the significance of each piece. Probably the most enjoyable B&B we have ever stayed in. We definitely plan on returning to The Stone House and highly recommend you stay there as well!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
285
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
central Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Don't have much to add to the other great reviews, but just want to add to the chorus.

I felt comfortable with a 7-year-old daughter there and Joe was quite welcoming and accommodating of a family with a young child. She liked the concert and really loved playing billiards and sleeping in a canopy bed.

(truth be told - she got a little bored touring homes during the trip. And here's another pointer - if you take a 7yo to Natchez, try not to do it immediately after a week at Disney. We should have done it the other way around.)

The food is great, Joseph is knowledgable, the house is beautiful, the stories are fascinating, and the concert is superb. If you're doing a B&B, this is about as unique and cool as you're likely to get.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoliticoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

On our first trip to the Southern US we had one more day to spend and, probably because of reading Greg Isles novels, we chose Natchez. Taking a quick look at Tripadvisor for ideas where to stay, I could not resist choosing a place where 92 of 93 guests had given it top rating. The fact that we could afford it didn’t hurt either. It is in a clean, safe and quiet neighborhood and a perfect spot to start a walking tour through the historic area of downtown Natchez. The 19’th century charm of the building and its furnishings are very tasteful.

As mentioned in many posts, Joe is a great host and musician. He was very approachable for help in identifying sites to see as well as local places to eat. The musical presentation in the evening, while sipping some wine, was awesome and unique. This was followed by some interesting conversation about the history and present day status of Natchez and Louisiana. It was a very memorable stay that I think many people would cherish.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a night after dropping off our daughter at College in New Orleans. We loved the beautifully restored home and especially the music parlor. We had a cocktail while Joe Stone (the proprieter) played a concert on his perfectly maintained antique grand piano. Joe is truly a virtuoso and took the time to explain the historical/musical significance of each piece he played. Afterwords we went out to dinner. Comfortable beds, beautiful pool room and dining room. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank page022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

In all catagories, Stone House can't be beat (competitive price, great location within an easy walk to historic downtown Natchez, large rooms, congenial and knowledgeable host and delicious breakfasts). Several other nuances, however, really set this place apart.

First, Joe Stone has a family connection to this house that goes back more than a hundred years and is chock full of family memorabilita and heirlooms that he'll proudly describe, if asked. Second, one of the larger public rooms is graced by a full size billiards table available to all guests. Third, a semi-retired musical performing artist, Stone thows in a piano concert for his guests (Ours was 45 mintues in duration with a printed program and complimentary champagne.). I kid you not!

Thanks....Joe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We wrote a review previously Sept. 17, 2009 titled Freakin Awesome. We were glad that we were able to stay at the Stone House once again and Mr. Stone was wonderful as always! The last time we stayed, we stayed 1 night but this time we decided to stay 2 nights (friday and saturday night). It was the highlight of our trip! Once again, I must say that when we stay in Natchez again in the future we will make reservations at the Stone House. Mr. Stone is a wonderful host and very knowledgable and talented. He makes a wonderful breakfast and was very considerate of our tastes(even though we are not picky eaters) -- he made a grocery list according to our tastes. It was very delicious! Once again we stayed in the cottage because we like the extra privacy. We hope to stay again asap! Thanks Mr. Stone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We have stayed at several B&B's in Natchez and this is one of the best. Joe Stone, the host, was very accommodating and full on local information. The house is on a side street near town and very quiet. We stayed in the master bedroom; the room was very spacious and the bed was as comfortable as any I've slept in. Joe cooked a good breakfast which included shrimp gits, quiche, ham and biscuits. We went during the Fall Pilgrimage and were fortunate to sit in on one of his piano concerts for free since we were staying at the B&B. Joe is an excellent musician and a great host. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 40 in Natchez
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#5 of 40 in Natchez
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Property: Stone House Musical B&B
Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing