We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the South”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
“The Best of the South”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Oak Hill is like a home away from home. It is a well restored, exceptionally clean home filled with lovely antiques. Our host, Doug, provided all the little amenities that makes a visit special from homemade cookies and fresh flowers decorating the table where coffee is served in the morning to unbelievably delicious breakfasts. It is close to all the sights of Natchez and yet on a very quiet neighborhood street. As much as I enjoyed all that Natchez had to offer, it was our stay at Oak Hill Inn that made our vacation extra special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
548
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Roberts J

My husband & I celebrated my birthday on Nov. 15th in Natchez. The Oak Hill Inn was perfect. The accomodations were beautiful, the antiques unbelievable, & the gourmet breakfasts were awesome. We've stayed at various plantations homes & other B&B's throughout the past 40 years when visiting the beautiful city of Natchez, but this experience has been the best so far. Doug & Don truly go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The house tour was so interesting that we didn't want it to end! Their attention to detail reflects their love of the city & their joy in making guests feel at home!
We will definitely stay with them again on our next visit & would definitely recommend anyone else visiting Natchez to do the same .

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very comfortable. We stayed downstairs in the Beatty Suite, which has access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

A beautiful B&B in a wonderful city and serving up one of the best breakfasts we have ever had anywhere. Your host Doug will give you a tour of the house and he does a great job. Oak Hill is in a quiet neighborhood not far from all the historic antebellum homes, in fact Oak Hill is usually on the spring or fall list of pilgrimage homes to visit. If you go in the spring you will be treated to a colorful array of flowers all over the city. This is one of the best B&B's we have ever been to and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Oak Hill Inn is beautiful and we were treated to hospitality that can not be compared. We visited October 9-13, 2011 for our 40th anniversary and we enjoyed it very much. We recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: If you don't like to climb stairs take the first floor room. The bedroom was beautiful and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I returned yesterday from our stay in Natchez. We are so happy that we decided to stay at Oak Hill Inn. It is not only a beautiful home, but the owners have taken care of every little detail. We were greeted with fresh cookies and a fabulous mint julep. We stayed in the downstairs room that opens into the library. Everything was so nice. The bed was not only beautiful but extremely comfortable. We were given a list of places to dine and Don let us know what places they recommended.

The B&B is just a couple of blocks from downtown so we were able to walk to dinner with ease. Of the places we ate, we enjoyed Biscuits and Blues by far. Great food and atmosphere.

While in Natchez, we visited Longwood (the largest octangonal house in America). We also visited the St. Mary Basilica ,which you can see from Oak Hill Inn, and walked "Under the Hill."

We enjoyed meeting the cats Polly and Evangaline. Oak Hill Inn is such a lovely home and I must say that the breakfast served in the morning is divine. Everything is made from scratch and absolutely fabulous. If you are traveling to Natchez, visit Don and Doug at Oak Hill Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is a five star experience we would recommend to anyone. We loved every moment spent there and every bite we ate. The owners do a fabulous job at making your stay the best possible experience. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have been to Oak Hil numerous times, each time is better than before! You are treated like family and spoiled rotten. The house is perfect with immaculate grounds, and the homemade chocolate chip cookies coming in the back door are such a special touch. The breakfast you are served are incrediable and are different each day for a new experience each time! Doug and Don, thank you for a wonderful stay! Love you guys

Faith Sikes
Clinton, Ms

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing