We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“King of the B and B”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned home from our third stay at Oak Hill Inn - Doug and Don are the definition of GREAT hosts. They welcome you into their beautiful home each and every time as family. The gourmet breakfasts are beyond compare and the rooms are lovely. We've stayed at other B and B's in Natchez and other areas but, none stand up to the Oak Hill standard of hospitality and wonderful food. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend - can't wait to plan another visit. Pete and Cindy Caruso

Room Tip: While all rooms are comfortable - the Beatty Suite has a great rainfall shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
548
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband & I just returned from a wonderful experience at this B&B which our children gave us for our 45th wedding anniversary. The place was meticulously clean inside and out. The owners made us feel very comfortable sharing their lovely antebellum home. They volunteered to give us a tour of their beautiful home which we thoroughly enjoyed. They were very helpful in suggesting great places to visit as well as eating places. The bed was very comfortable as we slept feeling very relaxed and refreshed each morning. We had the best gourmet breakfast for 3 mornings and the fresh fruit and banana -nut muffins were oh soooooo delicious. We looked forward each morning to rock on the porch listening to the water fountain and sipping our delicious cup of coffee while admiring their beautiful gardens.
We will definitely recommend this B&B to all of our family & friends and looking forward to returning since Doug & Don made our stay most enjoyable. Anne & Charles LaRose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When in Natchez, this is the place to stay! Doug and Don go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The house is furnished so elegantly that you feel like you've stepped back in time. Afternoon mint juleps and homemade cookies made for a relaxing afternoon. But the elegant breakfast on French china was the BEST! We met a couple from France that we hope to see again while staying at Oak Hill Inn. We will definitely stay here again. We have great memories of Oak Hill Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you are looking for that cozy,"home-away-from-home", this is the B&B for you...Hosts,Doug and Don are the very definition of the word "Hospitality"-the food is perfection, masterfully-prepared, and plenty of it. Best of all, the hosts are great conversationalists, know a tremendous amount about Natchez history,and are only too happy to point the way to the many interesting attractions that Natchez has to offer. An immaculately clean, quiet place to just "kick-back" and forget your everyday cares and woes... James Davenport

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Oak Hill Inn in Natchez continues to be a stop on our vacation every year. Owners and hosts Doug and Don provide an atmosphere of down home hospitality along with the highest quality accommodations and a breakfast that exceeds than most five star hotels. You are greeted with warm cookies and a cocktail on arrival and it just gets better from there. Doug and Don also are extremely knowledgeable and helpful about the historic attractions in the Natchez area along with the best dining spots. We highly recommend the Oak Hill Inn!! Fred and Monica Clausen--Irving, TX

Room Tip: Our favorite is the downstairs suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great get a way weekend is to stay here. Very personable owners. Great breakfast. They go the extra step to make your stay one to remember. Will definitely stay there our next trip. The front porch is relaxing in the morning to sit and have coffee. Takes you back in time.

Room Tip: Upstairs is perfect for a family or group of girls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 3rd anniversary on our first trip to Natchez and coincidentally, our first B&B stay.

The home is beautiful, the furnishings are amazing (especially those of personal significance to the owner) and the breakfast--as many have commented--is superb. In fact, the best food we experienced in Natchez was breakfast at the Inn, both mornings.

If breakfast was the best, mint juleps at five on the porch (or lush patio) would be a close second.

We highly recommend!

Room Tip: The main suite provides less privacy than upstairs, but is wonderfully appointed and the bathroom (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakhillinn, Owner at Historic Oak Hill Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello,
we sure appreciate you taking the time to write our 402 five star review and hope you return to Oak Hill some day soon. As far as the room tip saying the upstairs is more private than our Main Suite is simply not true. Most of our guests chooses Historic Oak Hill for its elegant QUIET privacy. Our B&B has only 3 guest rooms which most people love. Your room is one of the most beautiful rooms in Natchez with a fireplace, all period furnitue and a LARGE bathroom with a large rainfall shower. A half tester bed that goes up 14 feet with large windows that look out to almost an acre of private gardens. The 10 foot doorways and 2 inch thick doors afford all the quiet privacy one needs. These guests did mention that it was their first B&B expierience so I can understand the difference between a Hotel and B&B. the wall that runs along our 60 ft. center hall is over four feet thick because there is a closet there. The rooms are so far appart that it is extremely private. My living Quarters are in the back part of the home to afford even more privacy. Surrounded by mature moss draped trees and garden and fountains make it feel you are out in the country. Thank you Doug Mauro Historic Oak Hill Natchez M.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing