We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best in historic B and B's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best in historic B and B's”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was a highlight of our visit to Natchez for the Spring Pilgrimage! Stepping into Oak Hill was like returning to a bygone era, with a rich array of antique furniture and reproduction appointments, yet updated in the important features that matter to an overnight guest. We stayed in the spacious blue room on the main floor, which included a massive antique bed, antique desk with chair and a corner sitting chair with floor lamp for reading. The bathroom was very large with a rainfall shower, and the room included a mini fridge with complimentary bottled water and soft drinks, The room stood next to the library, nice for relaxing and reading. Home made cookies were provided in the enclosed porch/morning room that looked out on a lush garden, patio area and water fountain. We were served complimentary mint juleps there during happy hour. The main dining room hosted the gourmet breakfasts (probably the best we have had at any B and B) at a table set with Waterford crystal, European china and antique silver. Coffee or tea were offered from 7:30 on so we could have that first cup before our meal at 8:30. Doug joined us for a few minutes each morning at breakfast and was a great wealth of information on the town’s history, particular homes we would be seeing, attractions we shouldn’t miss and just general recommendations for our stay in Natchez. The front porch offered a perfect spot to relax at the end of a day, with original gaslight lamps for chatting into the evening. We will certainly be back and bring someone with us to share the delights of this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 536ruthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
540
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We learned during our stay that Oak Hill was recently ranked #1 B&B nationally by Trip Advisor....boy, were they right. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip which also included New Orleans. High praise and very worthy of it. Oak Hill is a lovely, peaceful home and I am convinced that Doug and Don truly put their heart and soul into their work. Breakfasts and mint juleps were spectacular, and attention was given to every detail.The hosts' knowledge of Natchez and the history of the home were fascinating. My husband and I do not seek out friendships from hosts like many do, but we left wishing that Don and Doug lived next door to us. We cannot wait to return again and again!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FunintheSun717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Do not miss this Inn!! Do not miss having Doug and Don as your hosts, and all of the extras they provide to make your stay the very best imaginable visit. Think of all that you hope you will find in a B and B and then add a beautiful Natchez hospitality patina to that. I can say the home in itself was an unforgettable experience, but the gracious reception and planning on the part of Don and Doug for our comfort has never been equaled by any other place I have ever stayed. One trip there will never be enough for me. I am already planning for my 4 sisters and I to make this our next family getaway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bobbye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My recent visit to Oak Hill Inn was by far the most enjoyable stay I have ever experienced at a B & B. Everything about this Inn is Top Notch, every small thing that you could possibly want from a very, comfortable Tester Bed to the Mint Julips that are served at 5:00 PM, make you feel welcome and spoiled in a very Southern Tradition. The Gourmet Breakfast was a such a wonderful way to start your day, Eggs Benedict, fresh Fruit, fresh juice, I could go on and on. Our Hosts Doug and Don were so very special, they made us feel right at home in their home. I can't say enough good
things about how welcome we were made to feel. Fran Fuselier, New Orleans, La.

Room Tip: We had the Master Suite that was downstairs. Very spacious and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I learned about Natchez from our host at a B & B in Dallas. We chose the Historic Oak Hill Inn from a long list of others for a two night stay in November 2013. We were definitely impressed with the beauty of the home, not to mention the hospitality of our hosts. Don and Doug provided an awesome breakfast each morning and were always helpful in suggestions for local attractions and dining. We were so impressed with the beauty and hospitality of Natchez and the Oak Hill Inn that we scheduled a return trip with Don and Doug . . . this time for a longer stay. Do yourself a favor, skip the hotel/motel and visit Don and Doug at the Historic Oak Hill Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We followed our instincts that were informed by TripAdvisor reviews to this jewel. Wow were we (and reviewers) right! Doug and Don were great hosts. Both very gracious and informative. Our room was appointed with care and history. It’s one of those places where you keep looking around and trying to take in the beauty. Soon after check-in we were served warm chocolate cooked and a wonderful mint julep. Both exceeded my expectations. After dinner we returned to enjoy the beauty of the room and the great chocolate. Promptly at 8:30 a.m. we were served a spectacular breakfast. So glad we stayed at Oak Hill two days because the food was outstanding, let alone another mint julep and more cookies. Doug gave us a fun tour of the historic home with details of its past and some of he and his family’s past as well. Before we said good-bye we booked another trip to Oak Hill for October. Can’t wait to get back and enjoy the beauty of Natchez and Oak Hill and those mint juleps .

Room Tip: No bad choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLARSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a delightful stay here. We were made to feel very welcome and the attention to detail and attentiveness really made our stay. From homemade cookies and mint juleps to delightfully restored rooms with all mod cons it was a real treat to stay here. The tips about where to visit and eat in Natchez were really helpful. And the breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 41 in Natchez
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing