We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG what can I say? Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seminole
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG what can I say? Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Doug and Don certainly didn't disappoint us. We had been eagerly anticipating our stay. This is numero uno in Natchez. I don't know where to begin. This place is so beautiful,peaceful and gracious. WIne or Mint julep is waiting for you upon arrival. Cookies on the buffet. We stayed in the beatty suite. I didn't want to leave. Our own mini fridge-stocked -the bathroom is beautiful. And I'm saving the best for last BREAKFAST! Don prepares a superb breakfast second to none! Our morning it was quiche,bacon,a little potato casserole style square,Brioche,muffins,fresh fruit and served on c.1830's china. In the beautiful dining room with the murals-it was a feast for tongue and eyes! I want to tell more but you just have to experience it. Doug is a fantastic guide for the area and will help you with what to see in Natchez. He is a wealth of knowledge. The house has been meticulously restored and its a gem. We will be back!!

Room Tip: The Beatty suite by all means
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenR544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
135
524
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First trip to Natchez MS- booked stay here for mother-daughter outing. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Both hosts were gracious and informative of the area. Food was delicious and very well presented- dining room atmosphere makes the meal extra special. The home inside is gorgeous and very well done. Enjoyed early morning coffee on front veranda. Very hospitable visit. Mother and I enjoyed our stay here immensely. I am bringing my sister to the area to visit our mother and plan to book the entire upstairs for a return visit. Can't say enough postive about this inn. Been talking about it friends and family alike in the midwest.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful- if traveling with good friends or family would recommend the whole upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This B&B is top notch and the reviews prove it! My husband and I stayed for one night upstairs for our 10th anniversary in late December. It's tucked in a quiet part of town, which makes it extra special.

When we arrived, we were greeted and shown the beautiful home. Doug and Don are packed full of knowledge of anything and everything Natchez. We enjoyed happy hour after 5 pm with the best mint julep ever and fresh baked cookies. All the little details of this home from the fresh flowers and beautiful china, to the amazing breakfast, make it so worth the trip. Doug and Don are wonderful people who have put so much hard work into their B&B. They are not intrusive whatsoever, and they will be glad to give out recommendations for anything you request around town.

Our room was nice and comfortable. The window in the room overlooks a beautiful fountain in the large side yard. There is one bathroom upstairs, which is shared with the two rooms. One room is of period furniture and the other is more modern but very nice. Both are very spacious. We opted for the more modern room because it had a queen bed. When a top floor room is reserved, the other will not be reserved unless you have a larger party. This way you are given privacy. Plus, if you have a larger party and need the two rooms, they will give a discount!

Breakfast was simply wonderful. The dining room was beautifully decorated and the china, glasses and other little details were taken with special care. The attention to detail was exquisite. We were treated to coffee, orange juice, biscuits, plantation potatoes, pecan French toast, berries and melon in a nice compote and frittata with asparagus. What a great stay! Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chalgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had to comment on this place, as it was such a great overall experience. Doug and Don were such gracious hosts. The Inn is clean and beautiful. The furnishings are perfect. But what I enjoyed the most were the breakfasts - the presentations were exquisite and the food was 5-star! I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRedmonHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My first experience in a bed and breakfast and it was FABULOUS!! Doug and Don are the best hosts in the world. The breakfasts they served were delicious and so well presented. They are so knowledgable about Natchez and all the history there. Oak Hill is in pristine condition, crisp sheets and clean baths. You will NOT want to stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Downstairs shower is HUGE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yazoo City, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Five college friends met for a 40 year reunion & stayed with Don & Doug at the Oak Hill Inn B& B
In Natchez. The service was superb, the accommodations were wonderful, and the breakfasts were grand ( both in presentation and taste). In addition, the tour of their lovely home was one of the best tours we had and filled with so many noteworthy treasures.
You can't go wrong with this B & B if you want to experience the Old South.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbond1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have stayed in several B&Bs quite a few years ago and none compared to the hospitality and delightful breakfast experienced at Oak Hill Inn. Doug and Don are superb hosts and go the extra mile to make your stay very enjoyable. Breakfast at Oak Hill is a beautiful thing....the way the food is prepared and presented is first class, plus the table settings and décor make it an absolutely wonderful way to start your day! Our stay was a gift from our precious son and daughter-in-law so that made it very memorable. Would highly recommend Oak Hill Inn to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bedroom downstairs which was more like a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 41 in Natchez
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing