We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house, great chocolate cookies, wonderful mint juleps, incredible breakfasts which make even the thought of lunch impossible: add two gracious and knowledgable hosts who will do all they can to make your stay perfect - that is Oak Hill. What more could anyone want?

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
540
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2014, for one night as part of our USA road trip. The beauty and character of the house met our expectations (we had read a lot of outstanding reviews online and seen the recent award they won!). The mint juleps were delicious as were the cookies. A very nice touch upon arrival.
We had the main suite which was so luxurious, comfortable and decadent. We had everything we needed.
Our hosts recommended a mid-range restaurant for us and booked a table which was kind although it was quite a high-end restaurant by our standards! The food was nice but it was possibly not quite what were looking for. I believe it was called the Castle and was part of a massive historic house up the road.
Breakfast was delicious. Eggs benedict was a highlight and fresh fruit was great.
The only minor criticism is that we felt it was perhaps a little too formal. This is merely a personal opinion though and others may like the grandeur of the house more than us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Everything about the Oak Hill Inn is first class - the beauty of the the house and it's rooms, the hospitality of the hosts and the delicious breakfast. A great experience in the most attractive town of Natchez.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jande998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The owners are so friendly and warm. The accommodations were lovely with many special touches. Breakfast was a total delight!!! Beautiful, delicious, and totally Southern. Only criticism is more light for makeup in master suite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Doug and Don certainly didn't disappoint us. We had been eagerly anticipating our stay. This is numero uno in Natchez. I don't know where to begin. This place is so beautiful,peaceful and gracious. WIne or Mint julep is waiting for you upon arrival. Cookies on the buffet. We stayed in the beatty suite. I didn't want to leave. Our own mini fridge-stocked -the bathroom is beautiful. And I'm saving the best for last BREAKFAST! Don prepares a superb breakfast second to none! Our morning it was quiche,bacon,a little potato casserole style square,Brioche,muffins,fresh fruit and served on c.1830's china. In the beautiful dining room with the murals-it was a feast for tongue and eyes! I want to tell more but you just have to experience it. Doug is a fantastic guide for the area and will help you with what to see in Natchez. He is a wealth of knowledge. The house has been meticulously restored and its a gem. We will be back!!

Room Tip: The Beatty suite by all means
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenR544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First trip to Natchez MS- booked stay here for mother-daughter outing. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Both hosts were gracious and informative of the area. Food was delicious and very well presented- dining room atmosphere makes the meal extra special. The home inside is gorgeous and very well done. Enjoyed early morning coffee on front veranda. Very hospitable visit. Mother and I enjoyed our stay here immensely. I am bringing my sister to the area to visit our mother and plan to book the entire upstairs for a return visit. Can't say enough postive about this inn. Been talking about it friends and family alike in the midwest.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful- if traveling with good friends or family would recommend the whole upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This B&B is top notch and the reviews prove it! My husband and I stayed for one night upstairs for our 10th anniversary in late December. It's tucked in a quiet part of town, which makes it extra special.

When we arrived, we were greeted and shown the beautiful home. Doug and Don are packed full of knowledge of anything and everything Natchez. We enjoyed happy hour after 5 pm with the best mint julep ever and fresh baked cookies. All the little details of this home from the fresh flowers and beautiful china, to the amazing breakfast, make it so worth the trip. Doug and Don are wonderful people who have put so much hard work into their B&B. They are not intrusive whatsoever, and they will be glad to give out recommendations for anything you request around town.

Our room was nice and comfortable. The window in the room overlooks a beautiful fountain in the large side yard. There is one bathroom upstairs, which is shared with the two rooms. One room is of period furniture and the other is more modern but very nice. Both are very spacious. We opted for the more modern room because it had a queen bed. When a top floor room is reserved, the other will not be reserved unless you have a larger party. This way you are given privacy. Plus, if you have a larger party and need the two rooms, they will give a discount!

Breakfast was simply wonderful. The dining room was beautifully decorated and the china, glasses and other little details were taken with special care. The attention to detail was exquisite. We were treated to coffee, orange juice, biscuits, plantation potatoes, pecan French toast, berries and melon in a nice compote and frittata with asparagus. What a great stay! Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chalgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 41 in Natchez
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing