We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent In Every Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent In Every Way”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is where you'll want to stay in Natchez.
It's difficult to imagine a better setting or amenities and the hosts, Don & Doug, are simply outstanding in providing unbelievable breakfasts, an unmatched tour of their home and just every kind of tip you could want in maximizing your visit to Natchez.
Our room downstairs was beautiful and spacious and was adjacent to a charming and relaxing study/library that is perfect for relaxing in the evening. The veranda and the back patio are ideal for savoring a frosty mint julep. We had always thought that The Columns in New Orleans served the best juleps but Oak Hill's peerless version concocted by Don beats others the way Alabama mauls Vanderbilt on the football field. No contest.
The bust of the great George Washington should tip visitors off that the hosts are history buffs, and when you take a tour with Doug, you are in for a rare and enlightening treat.
All the little things are taken care of quietly and efficiently. More bottled water or Diet Cokes in your mini-fridge each day, spot-on advice on the perfect places for dining or sightseeing....even a CD to borrow for a tour of the Natchez cemetery.
My wife and I talked about our visit to Oak Hill and the overall excellence of this home, all the way to New Orleans. We live in Texas but will make this trip every time it is possible in the future.
If six stars were allowed in reviews, Oak Hill would merit that kind of recommendation.
Once you get there, your only "job" is to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
548
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only stayed one night but wished we were staying much longer after meeting our hosts. They were so kind, helpful and generous. On arrival we were treated to a 'mint julep' and home baked cookies by Don, in the gorgeous back garden. The decor and ambience of the home is magnificent with many authentic antiques. Any of the 3 guest rooms are wonderful. In the morning we were served a sensational breakfast with silver service and period crockery/ glassware. Doug sat through breakfast with us answering all our questions and giving us insight into Natchez and the home's history. This stay was a highlight of our Deep South road trip and we will definitely be coming back to stay at Oak Hill!

Room Tip: Downstairs room is largest with a walk in ensuite. All rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The house was amazing and set in a neighborhood of historic homes. We enjoyed the mint julip and wine offered in the late afternoon after a day of sightseeing and the hospitality associated with it. We visited Vicksburg and the battlefield the day before and spent two nights in Vicksburg. If we had it to do over again, we would stay longer in Natchez and not stay in Vicksburg. Natchez is more interesting and in better condition than Vicksburg. We recommend Natchez and this bed and breakfast very highly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 204CraigS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My 5th visit! Absolutely THE BEST mint julep I've ever enjoyed. What a wonderful welcome. The breakfasts are outstanding in every way, from locally sourced fruit to the most divine french toast imaginable. Doug and Don are extraordinary hosts whose enthusiasm for their property and guests' comfort continues to exceed all expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Inn on our recent vacation to the States.

Reviewers are right, its a great place to stay; Doug and Don were really welcoming.

We had the main room on the ground floor and I smiled when I saw the steps up to the bed!! The Inn is beautifully decorated and the breakfast excellent.

Thanks for making our visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I think previous reviewers have already covered all the superlatives - Oak Hill Inn is fantastic and Don and Doug have earnt the high regard in which they and their accommodation are held. We did have two very little niggles, the shower head on the rain shower in the downstairs bedroom was a bit blocked/scaled up so you don't get as much water as you'd expect - it meant that the shower wasn't as good as it looked like it could be. Also, we'd emailed detailed dietary requirements in advance which weren't quite met. Neither spoiled the stay and the breakfast was delicious and definitely plentiful. The rooms had modern amenities including WiFi, cable TV and refridgerated complimentary soft drinks. The mint juleps and homemade cookies, enjoyed in the sunshine in the lovely grounds, were divine and a highlight of our whole trip to the Deep South. We highly recommend Oak Hill Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this B&B after reading all the excellent TripAdvisor reviews and needing a convenient stop-over on a roadtrip with my parents from Memphis to New Orleans. Natchez, as a place, is a perfect stop-over for such a trip in terms of location, size, availability of B&Bs and restaurants - so far so good for the fundamentals. Over and above that, as a historical place of interest, Natchez is wonderful, particularly in terms of visiting fascinating plantation houses to learn about the history of the region. Onto the B&B itself - the house is beautifully restored and situated in a quiet road, the only sound is the tinkling of water in the garden's lovely fountain - shortly followed on arrival by the tinkling of ice cubes in a Mint Julep expertly prepared by owners Don and Doug. Both hosts provided for all our needs from information about where to dine in the evening, to what to do the following morning. Despite advising us on which plantation house to visit, I think Don's tour of the B&B explaining its history and showing how lovingly it has been restored and preserved, topped the tour we then took elsewhere. Our room was more than comfortable ($1m antique bed!) and the breakfast is to be seen and eaten to be believed! All in all, I cannot recommend Historic Oak Hill highly enough!

Room Tip: I did not look at the rooms upstairs - we were in the ground floor room, which is large, quiet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing