We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a reason that Oak Hill is number 1!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There is a reason that Oak Hill is number 1!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I could absolutely live here! Our stay was wonderful! We loved the beautiful house and grounds. Spending a rainy afternoon on their front porch eating chocolate cookies and drinking a mint julep was like stepping back in time. Sharing the bathroom upstairs with our cousins we were traveling with even worked out just fine. The breakfast--Eggs Benedict was delicious as was everything else Our conversation with Doug about what to do and see and his history of the house and furnishings was so enjoyable. My only whine--maybe in the future they will invest in a new king or queen mattress for the blue room. Thank you to our gracious hosts!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janrichwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
540
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Words cannot express our stay here. Doug and Don are such gentlemen and the genuine welcome you get when you step foot inside their home is fantastic. We stayed in the downstairs room which was so comfortable and full of history. I loved the fact that the room had its own entry to the lovely library.
The welcome mint juleps and chocolate chip cookies are a really nice touch. Breakfast is out of this world and better than any 5/6 star hotel.
Being in this house was truly like stepping back in time.
Doug recommended where to go to eat and what to see. We took his advice and enjoyed it however I would have to say that Doug's tour of their house and it's history was the best we experienced in Natchez ( we visited 3 antebellum houses during our stay)
We were sorry not to have been able to enjoy the garden in the evening however the rain putrid to that.
Thank you so much for everything

Room Tip: The main suite is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I had the good fortune of staying at this exceptional B & B in May. The level of care given to the property by Doug and Don is unparalleled. The same attention and care is given to every guest, right down to the extraordinary mint juleps and the chocolate chip cookies! The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Stepping into any one of them is like stepping back in time. Breakfast is truly a memorable occasion and served in elegant surroundings. Doug conducts a tour of the property which is excellent and should not be missed. We visited many other antebellum homes in the area, but we enjoyed Doug's narrative the most!
Oak Hill deserves all the raves it receives. This is the go to place if you want to experience the ultimate in southern hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lprill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I love staying in bed and breakfasts and this is one of the best ones I've ever stayed in. It was like staying in a piece of history. Everything is perfectly decorated for the period, the owners were wonderful, the breakfast was outstanding. Cocktail hour is between 5 and 6pm and they make delicious mint juleps. Doug was more than willing to give you great recommendations for tours and restaurants. I would without hesitation stay at the Oak Hill Inn again. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: If you have two couples the upstairs was perfect. There are two rooms and a bathroom in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyJett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a wonderful place to stay and the owners were so friendly and nice and went out of their
way to make it an unforgettable experience . The place is so lovely and clean that you feel like it is your new home and you hate to leave. The food and refreshments that were served were of the finest quality and so delicious. You felt like royalty but also like family. I can hardly wait to return. It was one of the most treasured trips I have ever taken. I am so happy for the new memories that are now part of me. I will never smell a gardenia and not think of the lovely gardens surrounding the house or here the trickle of water and not see the beautiful fountains at sunset and the flire flies as they lite up the evening shadows. It almost seems like a dream but I know it was reality . thanks for the memories, Cherry Lugo

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent/Outstanding is a great way to discribe this B&B in Natchez , Ms. The property, house, hospitality, breakfast are all outstanding. My wife and I have stayed at the Historic Oak Hill Inn 5 times and each time it just seems to get even better that the time before. We have reservations for this Labor Day weekend. Doug and Don are great host and provide a beautifull experience in site, home, breakfast, cookies, etc. Pete from Covington, La.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Another lovely weekend spent at Oak Hill Inn with Doug and Don. As always, their hospitality is above expectation and the breakfast beyond compare. We have come to think of this B and B as our home away from home and think of Doug and Don as cherished friends.

If you are thinking of spending time in Natchez at a B and B - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 41 in Natchez
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing