We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous- Best Ever! (Can we move in? )” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SanDiego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous- Best Ever! (Can we move in? )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

We've returned here on several occasions and it is consistently OUTSTANDING! Gorgeous does not do justice to Oak Hill. It's full of beautiful museum quality family heirlooms yet it's a comfortable home. Don't miss the house tour by proprietor Doug explaining the history of the furniture, paintings etc. Our suite had a beautiful bed with fabulous linens, cloud- like pillows and an elegant bathroom with crystal sconces. Morning coffee is available in the loggia early (love that!) overlooking the fountain and set on a table decorated with pansies and camelias from Oak Hill's garden. Breakfast is AMAZING- we stayed 5 nights and had a different wonderful breakfast each morning (no wonder- we learned that the owner had worked at Brennan's in New Orleans while attending Tulane Univ.): creme brulee french toast, Natchez pecan soufflee, eggs Benedict, fresh fruit served on period old Paris porcelain. Breakfast is served in the original 1835 dining room with a fire burning. Where else can you eat under an 1850 Irish Waterford crystal gasolier? Dinners can also be arranged in advance- we did that one night and it rivaled any of the best restaurants in New Orleans or San Francisco. The gardens are so pretty with Spanish moss dripping off the crepe myrtle trees. This gem is an award winning house and it shows. We were sorry to leave after a lovely stay, but it was back to reality.....

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
519
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Oak Hill Inn and were treated to the most outstanding gracious hospitality we have experienced anywhere. From the moment we parked our car in the covered carport, we were in a world of total relaxation and attention to detail. I am extremely detail oriented, and I was not disappointed in the least. We were promptly greeted and our bags taken. As we entered the rear garden, we were immediately captivated by the ambience of fountain and verandah. Every detail was exceptional and a quality experience for all the senses: the well-tended gardens, the chocolate cookies, the fresh flowers, morning coffee, the sumptuouis breakfasts, the luxurious bed and bath. There is not one detail of our stay that we would change. The owner made himself quietly available for information about entertainment and sights. The only negative we experienced during our stay occurred when I did not heed the owner's advice. We are already planning a return weekend getaway; the breakfasts alone would be worth the drive. The most impressive detail is the host's pride in his home and service. That pride shows in even the smallest things that many people would not even notice. Before our trip I did a lot of Internet research and talked to 3 different hosts before selecting Oak Hill. Without a doubt, I made the right choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detailMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yahoo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We have stayed at numerous B&B's in Natchez and then found the Historic Oak Hill. The home is lovely and restored so beautifully.
We will never stay anywhere else! From the moment you arrive you are greeted by freshly baked cookies and a great host!
The bedrooms are beautiful. We slept so well in the very comfortable grand half tiester bed and it made for a great nights sleep.
Doug's breakfast is unbeatable! The only way to truly describe it is to experience it!!
It is the most wonderful breakfast that we have ever had at a B&B.
My husband likes to walk in the city and this B&B is in the heart of the city but yet it is very quiet.
What a treat this place is and worth every cent!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amamtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

Earlier reviews say it all so I'll just add that I've never been more comfortable or better fed at any other B&B and my wife and I have stayed at B&B's all over the world.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPCCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We are world wide travelers from San Francisco ranging in ages 29-56. We booked our stay in Oct. for a trip planned in Feb. I spoke directly with the owner when planning our reservation and from the moment we spoke on the phone, I knew this was a special place. The owners name is Doug and he is so sweet. He has that true Southern hospitality although he is from the east coast. How funny!
All together there were five of us traveling. We rented to whole house, which consists of a downstairs suite with bathroom, and flat screen TV. The upstairs has two bedrooms, with a shared bathroom. Each room has its own character. I stayed in Myrtle room which was to the left of the stairway upstairs. The room had wonderful linens and fresh flowers arranged throughout this room. The room also had a cosmetic makeup mirror with and a vanity. The room also contained a DVD player and TV. I have stayed at many B&B's that do not have TVs so I found this one unique.
My parents stayed in the room to the right of the hall. The room also had wonderful linens, two beds, and a spacious closet. And again I must mention the TV! My aunt and uncle had the suite downstairs that was amazing and also connected to the library. Every night we would gather in this room and read the fabulous books Doug owned and polish off quite a few bottles of wine.
Oak Hill Inn provides refrigerators for the suite as well as a refrigerator for the upstairs quest. Also there was an ice machine, so our cocktails were nice and cold. Doug also fully stocks the fridge with beverages.
Upon arriving we were greeted with double chocolate chip cookies, and a warm smile from Doug. He took all our bags upstairs and gave up a quick overview of the house. The front of the house had an amazing porch and you could rock on the chairs all day. The back yard area could easily seat 20 people. Doug has chairs and tables placed in the back yard. There are two of the sweetest cats that hang out there, Polly and Evangeline. The place is amazing. Doug provides an incredible tour where he tells about all his furniture and the history of the house.
Now LETS GET DOWN TO THE FOOD. The breakfast is off the hook! So good. Doug puts out coffee at 7:30 on the dot. Breakfast is served at 8:30 am and you do not want to miss it. The first day we had a spinach frittata, creme brulee French toast, fresh biscuits, sausage and bacon, fresh fruit, and OJ. Everything is homeade and piping hot. The second day we had a southern pecan soufflé, eggs, sausage, bacon and fresh fruit. Again the food was amazing. Doug and his partner are printing a pictorial cookbook and I will be first on the list to purchase. I need to replicate the fantastic meals we had.
This place is amazing. Quiet, relaxed, and charming. Very elegant but not snobby. Doug is a great host and I will be back very soon. The five of us have made Oak Hill Inn our place to stay in Natchez. Go there now, don't stop. Oak Hill Inn is the best!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcigami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandersville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I had done my research on places to stay in Natchez before going, and it paid off. Oak Hill is perfectly situated in the historic district, so walk out the door to all Natchez has to offer. I cannot say enough about the fabulous food served so beautifully at breakfast. Doug Mauro, the owner, is as passionate about fresh, local foods (the eggs and homemade sausages are from a nearby farm) as he is about touting Natchez's many charms. If you are really lucky, Doug will share his recipe for creme brulee french toast!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinney0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

From the moment that we stepped onto the beautiful front porch and into the grand hallway filled with priceless antiques, we could not wait to explore the rest of the home. Our charming host provided us with an outstanding goumet breakfast and accommodations. This B&B is in the same category as some of the best 5 star hotels and Inns in the US and Europe which I have stayed.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beachymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing