We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely The Best B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Oak Hill on a trip to Natchez. Although I generally do not enjoy the Bed and Breakfast experience, Oak Hill is the exception. The hospitality, cleanliness and food are beyond compare. I will definitely stay there again.
David

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterSpringfield_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Historic Oak Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Oak Hill Inn and regard it as the highlight of our visit to Natchez during the Spring Pilgrimage. Doug's tour of the house was more memorable than any of the other houses we toured. It would be worth staying at Oak Hill just for the fabulous breakfasts and the chocolate chip cookies! This would definitely be our recommendation for anyone going to Natchez!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed two nights at this meticulously-restored home (circa 1834). Although neither my wife nor I am particularly drawn to antique anything, it seemed appropriate to stay at this B & B while visiting during the Spring Pilgrimage. And we were totally unaware at the time we reserved that there was such a festival...call it the (fortunate) law of unintended consequences! Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Doug, who assisted us with our bags from auto to room. He gave us a quick orientation tour of the inn, followed by specific and detailed responses to our inquiries regarding restuarants and activities..Our room was sumptuous in it's furnishings, and was amazingly spacious. The bathroom was also lavishly appointed and combined modern convenience, while not losing it's antiquity. Breakfast was top-notch both days, and shared with several interesting couples also newly visiting the area. The only downside of the experience was heavy rain the second day, which clearly was not under purview of the inn-keeper! Regrettably, our itinerary didn't allow us sufficient time on our departure day to enjoy a detailed tour explaining the restoration details which is offered to all guests. In the unlikely event we return to Natchez , since we live in Seattle, we'd not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenRails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Our stay at Oak Hill Inn was the highlight of our Natchez visit. Our host, Doug, gave us an amazing tour of the house, which is furnished with beautiful antiques and paintings. The location of the house is so convenient as to allow walking to the local shops, restaurants, and churches. We were served a delicious breakfast in the beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CummingGATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We spend two nights at Oak Hill and give it a 5 Star Rating. Our accommodations were
lovely and the breakfasts were outstanding!! They would delight any gourmet cook and were served in an elegant dining room with fine china, crystal and silver.
Doug always had a plate of delicious chocolate chip cookies for our afternoon snack.
Doug's tour of Oak Hill was most interesting and got our tour of Natchez homes off to a good start. In fact, I liked it best of the home tours. We highly recommend Oak Hill and hope that we can come back someday. Claud and Virginia Wallace, Kilgore, Texas

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank COLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This is one of the finest B&Bs we have yet encountered. An antebellum mansion, it is furnished with period pieces, all in excellent condition. The owners, Doug and Don, are men of many talents; cooks, bakers, gardeners and travel advisors. The breakfasts are wonderful, creative and so abundant we never bothered to stop for lunch. The bed was firm and comfortable and the house is air-conditioned and conveniently located.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bflotales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I visited Oak Hill Inn with my husband and felt like I'd come home to a place I belonged! The Inn is nothing short of fantastic with no detail left unattended. The antiques and period furnishings were gorgeous and of such rare quality and craftsmanship I felt as if I were a part of "Natchez royalty"! Our hosts were outstanding, each with his own special contribution - Doug for the history and dramatic flair, and Donald, a great cook and conversationalist. I can't think of a better place to stay in Natchez - Oak Hill is perfect and I'll never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttuckernjgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing