We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, including delightful dining on historic china surrounded by a lovely garden.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Three sisters looking for a spring getaway found this little jewel of an inn while searching the internet. The second story bedrooms were a perfect fit for our needs, with comfortable beds and good linens. Doug was a gracious host & surprised us with a tour of his home loaded with family pieces; in fact, we found some his information relevant for our later tours through some of the historical mansions in town. Arrival tea, homemade cookies, and the breakfast were as reviewed, wonderful! We would definitely stay here again, in fact I'm thinking of bringing my husband for the fall balloon fest.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2009

A beautiful house circa 1835 furnished with period furniture. We stayed in the Beatty Suite on the first floor and were more than pleased. Breakfast far exceeded our expectations. Doug Mauro, the proprieter was helpful in every way. Natchez and the Oak Hill Inn are "must sees"

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirate1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Oak Hill Inn during a trip we took through the South to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This inn is a wonderful gem. We stayed on the first floor and the room was absolutely impeccable. Doug is a gracious host with great advice and delicious breakfasts. He took us on a tour of the inn which we loved. It was such a nice touch and a more personable way to learn the history of the inn and the furnishings, some of which are personal to his family. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer. Next time!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Oak Hill Inn is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast on a quiet street in Natchez. The Inn has beeen lovingly restored in recent years and is furnished with outstanding antiques. Doug, our host, was so friendly and accomodating. The lawn and gardens are wonderful and provide areas for lounging, either in the front porch rockers or the patio beside the fountain. The breakfast provided was really fabulous and elegantly presented and served. We can't say enough good about Oak Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We totally enjoyed this terrific place so full of antiques and stories and above
all the hospitality and friendliness of our host Doug Mauro.
This is t h e recommendation for some days in Natchez

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We just returned home from visiting Natchez, MS and Historic Oak Hill Inn. Doug was a most gracious host. Upon arrival he met us at our covered parking place and carried our luggage up for us. He immediately made us feel at home. We were offered a glass of his famous iced tea and chocolate chip cookies,YUM!!! Our room was immaculate and filled with antiques and was very spacious. Doug was full of information about the antebellum homes we should visit as well restaurants we should try. We visited three of the old churches in Natches and took the carriage tour of downtown Natches. all on his suggestion and we were not dissappointed. His home has been beautifully redone and decorated in wonderful antique furniture, china vases and artwork, some of which originated from his own family.
Breakfast was exquisite .served to us on antique china and could compete with any breakfast served in a five star restaurant. I particularly appreciated his succesful attempt to accomodate my low sodium diet.
My husband and I highly recommend, that should your travel plans call for visiting Natchez. that you try Historic Oak Hill Inn.

Lee and Lucille Crayon
LaPlace LA

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laplacegrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

When my partner and I were planning to visit Natchez in April of 2009, we chose the Historic Oak Hill Inn from a number of options on the internet. We wanted to stay for two nights. Doug only had one night available, but he immediatly offered to personally make the arrangements for a second night with another property just a few blocks away. I didn't even have to make a confirming phone call to take care of the details for the second night.

Doug met us upon arrival and made us feel right at home. He told us that we had been fortunate enough to arrive in Natchez for the annual Pilgrimage tour of private homes. When it became clear that we wouldn't be able to visit all three of the homes on the afternoon tour that day, Doug called the visitors bureau and arranged for us to get a single ticket to visit a nearby home that was a highlight of our visit to Natchez.

Our breakfast was an amazing feast served on antique china in the formal dining room of the home. After the meal and a fascinating tour of the Inn, Doug called ahead to our next destination to make sure they were ready for us, then gave us detailed directions and sent us on our way. He also made excellent suggestions for dining and touring for the remainder of our stay. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Natchez.

Roger Edmonson & Kermit Johnson

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#4 of 17 in Natchez
219 reviews
1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#2 of 17 in Natchez
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#2 of 41 in Natchez
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: £93 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing