We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing house, but some hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing house, but some hiccups”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The house has it all - what a wow factor. The bedrooms are great (we stayed in an antebellum room in the main house) but I would say the bathrooms need updating. Didn't expect a shower curtain, for instance. It is truly special to wake up in such historic surroundings, though. The first night, we went for great mint juleps in the bar (don't miss them!) and my husband looked round the door of the adjoining room only to be hustled out as it was booked for a group. Not very welcoming! We had decided to eat in the 1818 restaurant, and while we were finishing our drinks on the terrace, we saw the staff setting up two big tables of 10 for dinner. It transpired that one group hadn't booked to eat but were being accommodated anyway, which meant that it took an hour and a half to get to our main course, which was salty and cold. The three groups of us in the restaurant complained to our lovely waitress (who did an amazing job) and she had to go and ring her manager to see what she could do for us. We were then told that we only had to pay for our drinks. On checkout, this information hadn't been given to the girl at the desk, so we had to explain what had happened again so we weren't charged. I have to say that all the staff were very helpful and apologetic, but the evening was utterly shambolic. We had to tell the French family that ate at the same time (only 2 steaks and a salad - 1.5 hours waiting!) that we hadn't paid. They had only been offered free pudding. It's a great shame, as I understand that the food can be brilliant. Go for the house and gardens, definitely.

Room Tip: We chose an antebellum room in the main house over a room in one of the cottages round the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinyredheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    117
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
78
416
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Pros - The main house and sourrounding gardens are spectacular.We took the morning guided tour and the guide tried to take us back to the time of those antebellum mansions. My husband and I stayed in a confortable cottage beautifully furnished with a porch where we could go relax in two super confortable rocking chairs sorronded by green gardens and big oak trees. The breakfast was perfect specially the place where it was served. The gentlemen that helped us with our luggage was very helpfull and the only one who really welcomed us.
Cons - When we arrived everything was a caos and I may say there was no welcome at all. If it weren't for the gentlement who helped us the recepcionist were not attentious at all. They didn't even inform us there was going to be served a kind of hors d'oeuvres arond 7pm. Just gave us a Key and an envelope with nothing inside. Nice place but rather expensive and there are other plantations equally lovely much more friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Natchez and chose to stay at the Monmouth Historic Inn. We had the "romance package" which included 2 nights stay, 2 breakfasts, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room, and dinner one night in their 1818 Restaurant. We also chose to upgrade our room to an antebellum room in the main house

Our stay was wonderful. The room was beautiful with antique furnishings, the food was great--especially dinner. They brought the champagne and berries, as I requested, while we were gone on a bike ride so we had a nice treat when we got home.

The inn has multiple additional buildings with other rooms. Most of these buildings have been reconstructed. The size of Monmouth and how they run it makes it feel more like a historic hotel then an intimate B&B but this was not an issue. Breakfast was in the garden room and with individual table service rather than scheduled B&B style service at a big table as we have had in other plantations. Breakfast choices were a southern breakfast (grits) or stuffed French toast. They had fruit and granola as well. Dinner was a stellar 5 course meal with great choices for each course. The 1818 Restaurant was in the main house.

The gardens are beautiful and were nice to explore. Monmouth sits about 1-2 miles from the downtown and river area though is still in town. It is also about 1 mile from the start of the Natchez Trace which provides a great place go for a bike ride or drive. It's very easy to ride your bike to the trace.

Staying at Monmouth was not an inexpensive weekend but we choose to stay in the main house and upgrade the package. It was a great experience and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic weekend in a beautiful antebellum mansion!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGnome66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked a room on the second floor of the main building. The climb was too steep so the staff moved us to one of the cottages. The cottage is nicely furnished with a large front porch with rocking chairs. It was a very comfortable place to return after a long day of sightseeing around Natchez. The inn is a bit pricey and only makes sense if one is to stay more than one day in the Natchez area. The inn serves a very nice southern style breakfast. It also offers afternoon cocktails with a limited selection of appetizers and fairly expensive drinks. The staff was congenial and helpful. The main drawback to our cottage was the bathroom. An oversized spa type bathtub dominates the bathroom. The shower is narrow. The spa tub looked difficult to get in and out of - so we used the shower. We did take the morning tour of the inn and learned about the origins of the plantation home. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are relatively secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paristodc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We just spent 1 night at Monmouth in May on a tour through LA, MS, and AL.

The entire hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is amazing, the rooms are comfortable and unique, and the breakfast (we didn’t eat dinner), and drinks were perfect!

If you go, make sure you take a bit of time to walk around the grounds. Also make sure to go to happy hour to meet Roosevelt! He was so friendly and makes an amazing mint julep!

Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breda
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the main house and loved the well preserved athmosphere of older times, without compromising on the quality of the bathroom and the wifi connection ;)

John Quitman's bed (room 22) was large enough for two tall dutchies, the matrass was a bit sagged, but we didn't mind.
Both breakfast and dinner in the lounge were great quality just like the cocktails !
Monmouth is a perfect place to rest and relax and enjoying a bit of history.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Monmouth Plantation
We were very comfortable. The room was big, the bathroom large and clean. The garden, or shall I say the gardens simply magnificent. Our breakfast was excellent. M-mm, nobody can make biscuits like they do it down South!
I am taking a point off for peeling paint.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#5 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing