We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I spent 11 days touring the Southern States of America in October of this year. We spent two nights at The Monmoth and were quite impressed when we drove up the drive to the hotel. The grounds were lovely and well looked after, as was the main house. We were booked into one of the appartments in the grounds overlooking a lake. When we were shown the suite we were very disappointed. The carpets were dirty and very heavily stained, the 2 wash-hand basins in the bathroom were both cracked and there was nowhere to hang clothes (no coat hooks) or anywhere to put our toiletry items. There were also dirty finger marks on the doors. No fridge or coffee making facilities. Therefore if we wanted a cup of coffee/tea on the veranda my husband had to walk up to the main Hotel to get it and by the time he had walked back it was almost cold. The breakfast was very basic, two choices of hot meals (one of which was french toast) , fresh fruit (very nice), only one lonely bowl of muesli, awful toast and choice of jam or marmalade. When we are on holiday we always look forward to a lovely choice of breakfast to start the day off with, but this was not to be at The Monmoth. Hal was a breath of fresh air and the waitress in the main dining room was lovely.
The rating for a Hotel of that standard in England would be at most 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    123
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
78
423
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

stayed 2 nights here with beautiful suite in an outbuilding. Dinner was superb in the main house surrounded by memorabilia from the Civil war. Very reasonably priced and within walking distance of the historic downtown area of Nachez. If you come to Natchez you must stay here

Room Tip: we stayed in room 35. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotticus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The grounds are beautiful, large, ponds, fountains, flowers, plants, the house is beautiful. Congrats to the new owners, who have put all of their energy and efforts into making this a spectacular Inn. Bathroom is good, shower good with good pressure. Only one hand towel and it took two days to get a second one, must be most of their guest are very clean and don't need a second one for two people. Bar area is fun and good selection of drinks, adjacent room had use of the computer. Breakfast in the main house was excellent. Dinner in the dining room, separate room for our group, was just fabulous. Food was very good, and plenty big portions. The Monmouth Inn was very comfortable, relaxing and a great place to stay. Location is good, away from noise and rather secluded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We found this Inn in the AAA travel book. We booked three nights - two were on a package which included tours through three antebellum mansions (Monmouth is on the list), a carriage ride for two, and dinner for two. We added the third night - breakfast is included with the room. We discovered Mary - she makes the pancakes for breakfast. My husband nearly OD'd on these creations. The breakfasts were just incredible - extensive buffet of cold offerings, and then an individually ordered hot breakfast. Prepare to exercise a lot after you finish this repast. The grounds are wonderful. There is a lake, an old cemetery and paths to explore. Lots of trees and other types of shade - we needed this in May when we were there. The rooms are wonderful and the balconies make it easy to feel like one could be the plantation owner.

Room Tip: They were all really good, but upstairs rooms have the balcony just outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ranked number one place to stay in Natchez but we chose a hotel closer to the Visitor's center. Was glad we stopped by. Very nice home and grounds even for a quick stop to see it. Close to Melrose and local eateries and downtown Natchez.

Room Tip: Just drove by on the way to see Melrose. Gorgeous grounds and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank sactrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Its a bit of a sleepy backwater, but if you're into the fantasy of being an ante-bellum plantation-owner surrounded by fancy china and white glove servants providing for your every whim, then this is the place for you. Totally over the top. The bed was bigger than my whole apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were on a driving holiday from New Orleans to Savannah and decided to spend 2 days at Monmouth. Having stayed all over the world at many of the best resorts and hotels, this is definitely high up there for us.

We stayed in the old mansion in one of the old but very beautiful and comfortable antebullum rooms. Full of character and history. I normally prefer state of the art new hotels like Westins but I really enjoyed the charm and character of our room in the main house.

We also loved the gardens and woods. Truely beautiful and we spent many hours just walking and sitting there in the cool of the day reading and relaxing.

They have a beautiful restaurant on site with lovely white table clothes, great wine and excellent food.

We really loved sitting in the beautiful courtyard around dusk with a glass of wine and enjoying the atmosphere.

Lastly the people are very friendly and helpful.

Only downside is Natchez is a very quiet town so there is not much to do there - so bring a good book and prepare to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 17 in Natchez
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing