We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staying in a plantation with so much history and beauty doesn't get any better! The rooms have a classic style with a big bathroom that has a jetted tub. The gift shop has all sorts of cute things to buy. The landscape is so beautiful and it was easy to walk around the grounds on the gravel paths. There is a hiking trail near the pond and cemetery. Breakfast is made to order southern style which was delicious. We had dinner in the study since the restaurant was closed on Sunday. The study had complementary cheese and crackers. We had a great experience and wished we stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful old inn with tons of history. Amazingly restored. Don't miss the tour. Expensive, but worth it. The grounds are wonderful and a great staff that will make you feel like you are home. Off the main drag, but it would have to be. Sits on 26 manicured acres just outside of town and actually centrally located to all the places you want to go to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is our third visit to Monmouth Inn and it is probably our best visit yet. The new owners have made significant improvements to the grounds - they look gorgeous. The pond is now stocked and fishing rods are available for use. The croquet lawn was set up and was a great way to spend the late afternoon with our friends. Breakfast choices were enticing and delicious. The two couples that came with use had never been to the area before and just loved it!! Well done to the new owners and keep up the great work! Hope to get to return again.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are really nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose the Monmouth Inn on our return from the Texas Gulf Coast. We had been to Natchez several times but only for a day of tours before leaving for another location so we decided to make an overnight stay on our way home and forgo any tours of the city. We chose one of the deluxe rooms which was very nicely appointed. We ate at the Restaurant 1818 for the evening where the food was excellent especially for the price. Breakfast was bountiful and good. Overall a very pleasant experience. We plan to return to Natchez one year for one of their pilgrimages and will be sure to select Monmouth as our lodging

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushandjoannstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hospitality .Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all very very jolly and helpful. We were helped to our room by Stuart which we were very grateful for as it was at the top of a steep flight of stairs . (Room 21).Breakfast is served in a building across the grounds .the first morning there had been a power cut during the night so we had breakfast by candlelight,very atmospheric .A walk around the beautiful gardens is a must .We ate one evening in the 1818 restaurant which was very nice and the food good .Another night we ate a lighter meal in the lounge and were kept entertained by Eisenhower the Barman who makes a very good Mint Juleps.A guided tour of the house is included in your stay and was very informative and made great fun by the Nancy who showed us round .
The only thing we would have liked was tea and coffee facilities in the room but the staff very very kind to being up a tea tray for us one day when we asked for it after a long days sightseeing .Also a safe in the room .but minor things overall .would definitely recommend it .

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house but up a steep flight of stairs (room 21) be aware of this if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzyfizzy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The Monmouth provided a perfect base for our pilgrimage to Natchez. Our room in the Pond Cottage featured a beautiful canopy bed and a luxurious bathroom with Jacuzzi. The grounds were abloom with azaleas, camellias, and wisteria. The complimentary (and delicious!) hot breakfast was served in a beautiful sylvan setting, and we enjoyed dinner at the1818 restaurant. Be sure to have Roosevelt make you a mint julep (seven ingredients) in the Quitman Lounge!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank ArkansasTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our second visit to Monmouth. We visited several years ago and stayed in a beautiful suite in the Carriage House. Since we had such a wonderful time when we visited before, we decided to book another trip to Natchez to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. Because of Natchez Pilgrimage weekend, we were not able to book a suite (the inn was full), but the Deluxe Room we stayed in was nice. The grounds at Monmouth are just spectacular - the azaleas and wisteria were all in bloom and it was just like a picture postcard. We love the special attention you get from the staff, and Roosevelt's Mint Juleps are the best we have ever had! We remembered staffers Hal and Roosevelt from our last visit and were very glad to see that they were still working at Monmouth. We were also fortunate to meet the new owner and visited with her twice during our stay. She was a delightful person who we could tell really loves taking care of the Inn and her guests. Our dining experience at the 1818 Restaurant was very good - Limited menu, but the food and wine were excellent and the ambiance perfect. I am sure we will return to Natchez, and when we do, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in a suite in the Carriage House and a Deluxe Room above the gift shop. The onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patticake_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#2 of 17 in Natchez
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#4 of 17 in Natchez
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez

Address: 1358 John a Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range: £155 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a private bath, turned down bed, and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing